LIVE BLOG! Hoya Spiked Shoe Club Invitational

| 2 Comments | No TrackBacks

Welcome to the live blog of the inaugural Hoya Spiked Shoe Club Invitational at the Hanley Athletic Center for Athletic Excellence on the campus of Georgetown Prep in North Bethesda, Md.


6:04 p.m. FINAL UPDATE!

So, this will be the final update.  There is a full recap and complete results on and a photo gallery will be up once I am in a place where the internet isn't struggling.  I hope everyone enjoyed a full day of track & field and have a wonderful weekend. HOYA SAXA. 


3:47 p.m. UPDATE!

It feels like the last three years of my track & field career right now.  In the women's 4x800-meter relay, three-time All-American and current Hoya Renee Tomlin (who is running unattached) was on the track against Frances Koons (formerly of Villanova) and current Hoya All-American Rachel Schneider.  Stay tuned for updates and a full recap on!


3:20 p.m. UPDATE!

Sorry that the results have been slow today.  It has been all sorts of crazy here and it's been too easy to just watch the meet and talk with Hoyas former and current ... but, here are some quick results.  Don't forget that we will have complete results uploaded to the website soon after the race!
Tenille Stoudenmire won the women's 60-meter dash with a 7.69

Christian Tobias won the men's 60-meter dash with a 6.96. 

Diana Sainvil, a frosh, finished second in the women's 200-meter dash with a 27.20.

Amanda Kimbers won the women's 300 with a 39.97

Austin Perron won the men's 300 with a 35.18

Chelsea Cox won the women's 500 with a time of 1:13.36 while Becca DeLoache ran a 1:15.81 - both qualify the duo for the BIG EAST and ECAC Champs

Toby Ulm ran a 1:03.91 on the flat track here to win the men's 500

Liam Boylan-Pett, a former Hoya All-American, won the men's 800 with a time of 1:51.55

Liz Maloy, Renee Tomline and Rachel Schneider took third (2:49.69), fourth (2:50.34) and fifth (2:51.01), respectively in the women's 1,000-meter run

Dylan Sorensen finished third in the men's 1,000-meter 2:26.89


2:55 p.m. UPDATE!

It's quite an environment here.  It is great to host an event for once and have the entire team here to support as well as friends and family cheering on the Hoyas.  We have former Hoya and All-American Jesse O'Connell on PA and multiple staff on the premises to root for the Blue & Gray.  Dave Swanson, a former AD who retired about five years ago is in attendance with his wife and many former Hoyas are in attendance to watch the Hoyas. 


1:10 p.m. UPDATE!

As we await the next race, I have to give a shout out to Walter Johnson High School, my alma mater, and the b-thug (Bethesda, Md.) in general as today's meet director is none other than Mr. Greg Dunston.  That name may not ring a bell with you but he was my Algebra II teacher back at Walter Johnson High School.  He has since moved on to the track program here at Georgetown Prep.  The facility manager here at the lovely Hanley Center for Athletic Excellence is a fellow Wildcat who graduated one year ahead of me. Anyone who knows me is aware that I try to rock the blue and gray as often as I can - but today makes me nostalgic for the dear old green and white of Walter Johnson!


1:04 p.m. UPDATE!

Amanda Kimbers - of SAK VS. fame where she appeared in the first edition of the web segment on and schooled Ryan Sakamoto of sports information fame - won the women's 300-meter dash with a time of 39.97 followed by Deidra Sanders with a time of 41.27.


1 p.m. UPDATE!

Austin Perron wins the men's 300-meter dash with a time of 35.18 followed by Chistian Tobias with a time of 35.74, Sean Suber in third (36.14) and Robert Jackson III in sixth (37.77). 


12:50 p.m. UPDATE!

Results from the men's mile - Ayalew wins with a time of 4:08.82, Max Darrah in second with a time of 4:19.09 followed by Brian Manning (4:20.44) and Matthew Howard (4:24.67). For the women, Lauren Borduin finished with a time of 4:52.88 while Katie McCafferty timed in at 4:53.28. 


We are off to a great start here with Ayalew Taye winning the men's mile!  The field included the likes of Moise Joseph, an Olympian representing Haiti in 2004 and 2008. 


The women's mile has just begun and features Meaghan Gregory, Katie McCafferty and Lauren Borduin.  Stay tuned for more updates!

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:



Thanks for the updates...Don

Leave a comment

Tickets Facebook Twitter Google + Instagram YouTube Star Shop