» «

Athletic Hall of Fame HOF

In 1993, the Hall of Fame was relocated into a permanent facility, constructed in the southwest gallery of the Leavey Student Center on the Georgetown campus and overlooking the University athletic complex. The Hall was formally opened to the public in February 1994.

The current Hall of Fame has dramatically expanded the scope and focus of the Hall, from a single plaque to 22 separate pieces of bas-relief artwork depicting each of Georgetown's intercollegiate sports. The names of the inductees from each sport are affixed (by the year of graduation) below the appropriate bronze. The names of future inductees will be added biennially. By the end of the decade, it is anticipated that virtually every plaque will contain the name of a Hall of Fame athlete.

Two Latin inscriptions adorn the walls of the Hall. On the north wall is the sage advice of the Roman writer, Juvenal who urged "mens sana in corpore sano." Translated, it reads, "a sound mind in a sound body," a phrase that has become one of the hallmarks of Jesuit education. On the opposite wall is written the motto of the modern Olympic Games, "citius, altius, fortius," faster, higher, stronger.

In the 47 years since its inception, the Georgetown Athletic Hall of Fame has grown from modest beginnings. The Hall now sits -- relocated and renewed -- in one of the most dramatic settings on campus, adorned with striking artwork, reminding the visitor of the swiftness, strength and grace of 212 Georgetown men and women who represent the very best the University has to offer in the annals of intercollegiate sport.

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Wednesday, Aug 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer West Virginia 5:00 PM
Saturday, Aug 15
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer at Syracuse 4:00 PM
Women's Soccer at Richmond 5:00 PM
Tuesday, Aug 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer at Philadelphia Union 10:00 AM
Friday, Aug 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at James Madison 7:00 PM
Field Hockey at Towson TBA
Saturday, Aug 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer Virginia 1:00 PM
Sunday, Aug 23
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer vs William & Mary 11:30 AM
Thursday, Aug 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer Uconn 4:00 PM
Friday, Aug 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer at Florida Gulf Coast 7:00 PM
Women's Volleyball vs George Mason 5:00 PM
Field Hockey Davidson 7:00 PM
Saturday, Aug 29
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball vs American 10:30 AM
Women's Volleyball vs Howard 5:00 PM
Sunday, Aug 30
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer at USF 7:30 PM
Women's Soccer San Diego 12:00 PM
Field Hockey Rider 12:00 PM
Friday, Sept 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer Akron 4:00 PM GameTracker
Women's Soccer at Delaware 7:00 PM
Women's Volleyball vs Robert Morris 10:30 AM
Field Hockey La Salle 1:00 PM
Women's Volleyball at Fordham 7:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football at Saint Francis (PA) 12:00 PM
Women's Volleyball vs Niagara 10:30 AM
Sunday, Sept 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Saint Francis (PA) 1:00 PM
Monday, Sept 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer UCLA 1:00 PM GameTracker
Tuesday, Sept 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Morgan State 7:00 PM
Thursday, Sept 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer George Washington 4:00 PM
Women's Volleyball vs Kent State 5:00 PM
Friday, Sept 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey VCU 1:00 PM
Women's Volleyball vs Georgia 3:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football Marist 6:00 PM GameTracker
Men's Soccer Radford 1:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Sept 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer Virginia Tech 1:00 PM
Men's Golf at The U.S. Naval Academy Invite All Day
Monday, Sept 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Golf at The U.S. Naval Academy Invite All Day
Wednesday, Sept 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball George Washington 7:00 PM
Thursday, Sept 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer at VCU 7:00 PM
Friday, Sept 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at UCF 7:00 PM
Women's Volleyball vs North Carolina Central 1:00 PM
Women's Volleyball at James Madison 7:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football Dartmouth 12:00 PM GameTracker
Women's Volleyball vs Norfolk State 12:30 PM
Field Hockey at Lock Haven 2:00 PM
Sunday, Sept 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer at West Virginia 4:00 PM
Women's Soccer at Stetson 11:30 AM
Field Hockey at Lehigh 12:00 PM
Friday, Sept 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Towson 6:00 PM
Women's Volleyball Villanova 7:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football at Columbia TBA
Men's Soccer Providence 1:00 PM BEDN GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Sept 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at Providence 1:00 PM
Field Hockey Siena 12:00 PM
Women's Volleyball Seton Hall 2:00 PM
Men's Golf at The Windon Memorial Invitational All Day
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas