Student-Athlete Advisory Committee Present Third Annual Saxa Awards on Sunday Evening

May 1, 2012

WASHINGTON - Sunday evening's Saxa Awards was the third annual ceremony organized by Georgetown University student-athletes to celebrate the accomplishments of their peers on the field, in the classroom and in the community.

The 2012 banquet, held at the Leavey Center and organized by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) brought Hoyas student-athletes together with coaches, faculty, administrators and staff to celebrate the accomplishments of the Hoyas during the 2011-12 academic year.

"The SAXA Awards is special event because all student-athletes participate in the nomination and selection of the award winners," Associate Athletic Director for Compliance Mark Rountree said. "It's a celebration of Georgetown student-athletes' accomplishments on the field, in the classroom, and in the community."

Overall, 11 student-athletes, one coach and one team were honored in awards voted on by fellow student-athletes. SAAC also named its 2012-2013 Executive Board, with Lauren Gray (Women's Lacrosse) being named President, Matthew Mullman (Men's Crew) being named Vice President, James Heine (baseball) being named Secretary and Christina Daquila (Swimming & Diving) being named Treasurer.

Male Academic All Star- (co-winners) Trevor Kosmo (Swimming) and Michael Murto (Men's Track) Female Academic All Star- (co-winners) Kali Krumpos (Field Hockey) and Joan Dulieu (Women's Golf)

Male MVP - Andrew Schatzke (Football) - A consensus All-America selection, Schaetzke was also named the ECAC Defensive Player of the Year and the Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year. He led the league in sacks and tackles for loss, while ranking ninth in the nation in both categories. Schaetzke finishes his career at Georgetown second all-time in sacks.

Female MVP - Emliy Infeld (Women's Track) - A 10-time All-America selection in track and field and cross country, Infeld was the national champion in the indoor 3,000 meter run. Individually, she placed fourth at the NCAA Cross Country National Championships, leading the Hoyas to the program's first national championship. Emily was also the NCAA National Champion in the 3000m and anchored a fourth place finish in the distance medley relay.

Male Most Resilient - Ayalew Taye (Men's Track) -Taye has been plagued by injuries throughout his athletic career, though has been a valuable part of the men's track program, helping cross country to several top place finishes, as well as an NCAA East Region title. An achilles injury during the indoor season threatened to derail his career, but Taye, through determination is once again training with regularity, serving as an inspiration to those around him.

Female Most Resilient - Kimmy Keating (Field Hockey) - Keating was has been an inspiration to her teammates and fellow student-athletes at Georgetown, showing strength and courage, while battling through adversity.

Male Most Community Oriented - (co-winners) Raf Notario (Men's Tennis) and Matthew Mullman (Men's Crew) - Notario, serving as the President of SAAC, has led and personally created a number of community service initiatives, including the Hoyas Against Hunger Campaign, which challenged student-athletes and athletic department staff to individually donate funds and for student-athletes to prepare over 700 peanut butter & jelly sandwiches for the needy.

Mullman, a member of Grassroot Hoyas since his freshman year, has quickly become an organizer in the program, facilitating games and activities that teach middle school-aged students about HIV/AIDS. He is also the Co-Chair of the Fundraising Committee of the Grassroot Project.

Female Most Community Oriented - Katherine Farrell (Women's Rowing) - Katherine has shows a consistent demonstrated involvement in the community, both at Georgetown and in DC. She represents the Women's Rowing team on SAAC as a member of the SAXA awards planning committee. In addition, she has been involved with The Grassroots Project for the past 3 years working with DC middle school students, teaching them about HIV/AIDS and community leadership. Katherine also finds the time to volunteer at as a teacher's assistant in a DC elementary school.

Most Improved Team - Football - Two years removed from a season that saw Georgetown football finish 0-11, the Hoyas, led by Patriot League Coach of the Year Kevin Kelly and a strong group of seniors, went 8-3, its best record since 1999, while playing for the Patriot League Championship for the first time in program history.

Coach of the Year - Chris Miltenberg (Women's Cross Country Coach) - Led the Women's Cross Country to their First National Title and another BIG EAST Championship. In addition, Chris was named Coach of the Year by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

More Headlines
Field Hockey Welcomes Six Newcomers to 2018 the Hilltop Georgetown University Field Hockey Head Coach Christy Longacre, entering her ... Track & Field Garners All-America Honors Following NCAA... The Georgetown University track & field team claimed four All-America honors ... Georgetown All-Sport Auction Now Live The Georgetown University Department of Athletics All-Sport Auction is... Ryan Hursey Named a USILA Scholar All-American Georgetown University’s Ryan Hursey (Finksburg, Md./Westminster) capped...
Shop Now


September 1
Poughkeepsie, N.Y.
September 8
Cooper Field
September 15
Hanover, N.H.