» «
Sports Medicine Staff Takes Part in BIG EAST Conference Symposium

GUHOYAS.COM <blank>
GUHOYAS.COM

GUHOYAS.COM

May 22, 2012

WASHINGTON - Members of the Georgetown University Sports Medicine staff took part in the BIG EAST Conference Sports Medicine Society Symposium, held last week in Clearwater, Fla.

The National Sports Medicine and Sports Law Conference, hosted by the league's sports medicine society, was held at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort on May 14-15.

Georgetown was represented by Head Athletic Trainer Shawn Hendi, who was installed as the new president of the BIG EAST Sports Medicine Society, as well as Associate Athletic Trainer Tom DiSanto.

Hendi, who has been a member of the BIG EAST Sports Medicine Society for five years, helped to organize sessions during the symposium dealing with heart issues in sports, cardiac arrhythmias in the athlete and the impact and diagnosis of concussions, a hot topic in collegiate and professional athletics these days.

"This was a really impressive panel and I'm really glad that I had the opportunity to be there," Hendi said. "The list of people who spoke there were some of the best in the nation and to have them discussing some of the hot-button topics of the day made it more relevant. It was one of the best educational conferences that I've been to in the last decade and was proud to have had a small role in putting it together.'

Course directors for the symposium included some of the top names in the industry. Barry Maron, the Director of the Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy Center in Minnesota spoke on issues relating to the heart, including causes of cardiovascular death, strategies for screening and criteria for disqualification. Mark Estes, the Director of the New England Cardiac Arrhythmia Center and the Cardiac Electrophysiology and Pacemaker Laboratory at Tufts Medical Center, detailed issues relating to supplements and sudden cardiac death in athletes. Julian Bailes, M.D., a founding member of the Brain Injury Research Institute, paneled a discussion on concussions, second impact syndrome and the return to play.

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Saturday, Aug 29
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball vs American L, 3-1 Livestats
Women's Volleyball vs Howard W, 3-2 Livestats
Sunday, Aug 30
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer at USF 7:00 PM Live Stats
Women's Soccer San Diego W, 1-0 (2OT) GameTracker Watch
Field Hockey Rider L, 1-0 GameTracker Watch
Thursday, Sept 3
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at Delaware 7:00 PM
Friday, Sept 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer Akron 4:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Women's Volleyball vs Robert Morris 10:30 AM
Field Hockey La Salle 1:00 PM GameTracker
Women's Volleyball at Fordham 7:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football at Saint Francis (PA) 12:00 PM
Women's Volleyball vs Niagara 10:30 AM
Sunday, Sept 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Saint Francis (PA) 1:00 PM GameTracker
Monday, Sept 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer UCLA 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Tuesday, Sept 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Morgan State 7:00 PM
Thursday, Sept 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer George Washington 4:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Women's Volleyball vs Kent State 5:00 PM GameTracker
Friday, Sept 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey VCU 1:00 PM GameTracker
Women's Volleyball vs Georgia 3:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Sept 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football Marist 6:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Men's Soccer Radford 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Sept 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer Virginia Tech 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Men's Golf at The U.S. Naval Academy Invite All Day
Monday, Sept 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Golf at The U.S. Naval Academy Invite All Day
Wednesday, Sept 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball George Washington 7:00 PM GameTracker
Thursday, Sept 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer at VCU 7:00 PM
Friday, Sept 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at UCF 7:00 PM
Women's Volleyball vs North Carolina Central 1:00 PM
Women's Volleyball at James Madison 7:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football Dartmouth 12:00 PM GameTracker
Women's Volleyball vs Norfolk State 12:30 PM
Field Hockey at Lock Haven 2:00 PM
Sunday, Sept 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer at West Virginia 4:00 PM
Women's Soccer at Stetson 11:30 AM
Field Hockey at Lehigh 12:00 PM
Women's Golf at Lady Paladin Invitational (Furman) All Day
Monday, Sept 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Golf at Lady Paladin Invitational (Furman) All Day
Tuesday, Sept 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Golf at Lady Paladin Invitational (Furman) All Day
Wednesday, Sept 23
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer Maryland 4:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Sept 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Towson 6:00 PM
Women's Volleyball Villanova 7:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Sept 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football at Columbia 1:00 PM
Men's Soccer Providence 1:00 PM BEDN GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Sept 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at Providence 1:00 PM GameTracker
Field Hockey Siena 12:00 PM GameTracker
Women's Volleyball Seton Hall 2:00 PM GameTracker
Men's Golf at The Windon Memorial Invitational All Day
Monday, Sept 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Golf at The Windon Memorial Invitational All Day
Thursday, Oct 1
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at Villanova 4:00 PM
Friday, Oct 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football at Harvard 7:00 PM
Swimming & Diving Potomac Relays (Diving) 4:00 PM
Swimming & Diving at Potomac Relays (Swimming) 4:00 PM
Field Hockey at Providence 5:00 PM
Women's Volleyball at Providence 7:00 PM BEDN Watch
Saturday, Oct 3
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer at Xavier 7:00 PM BEDN Watch
Swimming & Diving at Delaware 1:00 PM
Women's Volleyball at St. John's 5:00 PM
Women's Golf at Princeton Invitational (Princeton) All Day
Sunday, Oct 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer Xavier 1:00 PM GameTracker
Field Hockey at Brown 12:00 PM
Women's Golf at Princeton Invitational (Princeton) All Day
Monday, Oct 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Golf at The Firestone Invitational All Day
Tuesday, Oct 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Creighton 8:00 PM
Men's Golf at The Firestone Invitational All Day
Thursday, Oct 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer St. John's 3:00 PM GameTracker
Friday, Oct 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Swimming & Diving at Princeton 4:00 PM
Field Hockey at Old Dominion 6:00 PM
Women's Volleyball Marquette 7:00 PM GameTracker
Women's Golf at Yale Intercollegiate (Yale) All Day
Saturday, Oct 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football Lafayette 2:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Men's Soccer Butler 12:00 PM BEDN GameTracker Watch
Women's Golf at Yale Intercollegiate (Yale) All Day
Sunday, Oct 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at Butler 1:00 PM
Field Hockey at Longwood 1:00 PM
Women's Volleyball Depaul 2:00 PM GameTracker
Women's Golf at Yale Intercollegiate (Yale) All Day
Wednesday, Oct 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer Marquette 3:00 PM BEDN GameTracker Watch
Friday, Oct 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Villanova 1:00 PM GameTracker
Women's Volleyball at Xavier 3:00 PM
Saturday, Oct 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football Colgate 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Men's Soccer at Depaul 2:00 PM
Swimming & Diving Towson 1:00 PM
Sunday, Oct 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer Marquette 1:00 PM GameTracker
Field Hockey at Colgate 12:00 PM
Monday, Oct 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Golf The Georgetown Intercollegiate All Day
Tuesday, Oct 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Golf The Georgetown Intercollegiate All Day
Thursday, Oct 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer Seton Hall 3:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Oct 23
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Temple 3:00 PM
Swimming & Diving at William & Mary 5:00 PM
Saturday, Oct 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football at Bucknell 1:00 PM
Men's Soccer at St. John's 7:00 PM BEDN Watch
Swimming & Diving at Davidson 1:00 PM
Women's Golf at Blue Hen Invitational (Delaware) All Day
Sunday, Oct 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at Depaul 1:00 PM
Field Hockey at Saint Joseph's 2:00 PM
Women's Golf at Blue Hen Invitational (Delaware) All Day
Monday, Oct 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Golf at The Homewood Suites FGCU Invite All Day
Hosted by FGCU and Temple
Tuesday, Oct 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Golf at The Homewood Suites FGCU Invite All Day
Wednesday, Oct 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer Seton Hall 2:00 PM BEDN GameTracker Watch
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas