» «
Annual NSO Pep Rally Held at McDonough Arena

GUHOYAS.COM John Thompson III
GUHOYAS.COM
John Thompson III
GUHOYAS.COM
Aug. 24, 2014

Photo Gallery

WASHINGTON - The Annual New Student Orientation (NSO) Pep Rally was held Saturday night at McDonough Arena, signaling the beginning of the 2014-15 academic and athletic year. While Wednesday marks the first day of classes, more than 1,500 students filed into McDonough on Saturday evening to catch the excitement of Georgetown athletics.

The Georgetown pep band got the crowd pumped up and the evening featured performances from the Hoya cheerleading squad along with the GU Step Team, Jawani Dance and Groove Theory.

Student-athletes from the Georgetown volleyball, field hockey, women's lacrosse, men's and women's rowing, men's and women's swimming & diving, football and men's lacrosse teams spoke to the crowd, urging the new students to come out and support Hoya Athletics both on and off campus.

Hoya Blue maintained the high energy with a relay race and dance-off before teaching some gameday Georgetown cheers to the Hilltop newcomers.

Women's Basketball Head Coach Natasha Adair, in her first year, got the crowd excited for the upcoming season, petitioning the students to come out to McDonough to support the women's basketball team this season. Adair and her players started the first "Hoya Saxa" chant of the year.

That led into Head Men's Basketball Coach John Thompson III, who introduced his five freshmen and asked that the crowd bring lots of energy and enthusiasm to the Verizon Center this upcoming season. He then taught the new students the "We Are Georgetown" chant.

The five men's basketball freshmen showed their moves to the "Cha-Cha Slide" and the volleyball team danced to "I Like to Move It."

 

The evening concluded with the raffling off of basketball season tickets and various gift certificates, monitored by both Adair and Thompson.

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Sunday, Aug 30
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer San Diego W, 1-0 (2OT) GameTracker Watch
Field Hockey Rider L, 1-0 GameTracker Watch
Monday, Aug 31
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer at USF , 0-0 Live Stats
Thursday, Sept 3
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at Delaware 7:00 PM
Friday, Sept 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer Akron 4:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Women's Volleyball vs Robert Morris 10:30 AM
Field Hockey La Salle 1:00 PM GameTracker
Women's Volleyball at Fordham 7:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football at Saint Francis (PA) 12:00 PM
Women's Volleyball vs Niagara 10:30 AM
Sunday, Sept 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Saint Francis (PA) 1:00 PM GameTracker
Monday, Sept 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer UCLA 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Tuesday, Sept 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Morgan State 7:00 PM
Thursday, Sept 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer George Washington 4:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Women's Volleyball vs Kent State 5:00 PM GameTracker
Friday, Sept 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey VCU 1:00 PM GameTracker
Women's Volleyball vs Georgia 3:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Sept 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football Marist 6:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Men's Soccer Radford 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Sept 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer Virginia Tech 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Men's Golf at The U.S. Naval Academy Invite All Day
Monday, Sept 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Golf at The U.S. Naval Academy Invite All Day
Wednesday, Sept 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball George Washington 7:00 PM GameTracker
Thursday, Sept 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer at VCU 7:00 PM
Friday, Sept 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at UCF 7:00 PM
Women's Volleyball vs North Carolina Central 1:00 PM
Women's Volleyball at James Madison 7:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football Dartmouth 12:00 PM GameTracker
Women's Volleyball vs Norfolk State 12:30 PM
Field Hockey at Lock Haven 2:00 PM
Sunday, Sept 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer at West Virginia 4:00 PM
Women's Soccer at Stetson 11:30 AM
Field Hockey at Lehigh 12:00 PM
Women's Golf at Lady Paladin Invitational (Furman) All Day
Monday, Sept 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Golf at Lady Paladin Invitational (Furman) All Day
Tuesday, Sept 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Golf at Lady Paladin Invitational (Furman) All Day
Wednesday, Sept 23
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer Maryland 4:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Sept 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Towson 6:00 PM
Women's Volleyball Villanova 7:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Sept 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football at Columbia 1:00 PM
Men's Soccer Providence 1:00 PM BEDN GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Sept 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at Providence 1:00 PM GameTracker
Field Hockey Siena 12:00 PM GameTracker
Women's Volleyball Seton Hall 2:00 PM GameTracker
Men's Golf at The Windon Memorial Invitational All Day
Monday, Sept 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Golf at The Windon Memorial Invitational All Day
Thursday, Oct 1
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at Villanova 4:00 PM
Friday, Oct 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football at Harvard 7:00 PM
Swimming & Diving Potomac Relays (Diving) 4:00 PM
Swimming & Diving at Potomac Relays (Swimming) 4:00 PM
Field Hockey at Providence 5:00 PM
Women's Volleyball at Providence 7:00 PM BEDN Watch
Saturday, Oct 3
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer at Xavier 7:00 PM BEDN Watch
Swimming & Diving at Delaware 1:00 PM
Women's Volleyball at St. John's 5:00 PM
Women's Golf at Princeton Invitational (Princeton) All Day
Sunday, Oct 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer Xavier 1:00 PM GameTracker
Field Hockey at Brown 12:00 PM
Women's Golf at Princeton Invitational (Princeton) All Day
Monday, Oct 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Golf at The Firestone Invitational All Day
Tuesday, Oct 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Volleyball at Creighton 8:00 PM
Men's Golf at The Firestone Invitational All Day
Thursday, Oct 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer St. John's 3:00 PM GameTracker
Friday, Oct 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Swimming & Diving at Princeton 4:00 PM
Field Hockey at Old Dominion 6:00 PM
Women's Volleyball Marquette 7:00 PM GameTracker
Women's Golf at Yale Intercollegiate (Yale) All Day
Saturday, Oct 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football Lafayette 2:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Men's Soccer Butler 12:00 PM BEDN GameTracker Watch
Women's Golf at Yale Intercollegiate (Yale) All Day
Sunday, Oct 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at Butler 1:00 PM
Field Hockey at Longwood 1:00 PM
Women's Volleyball Depaul 2:00 PM GameTracker
Women's Golf at Yale Intercollegiate (Yale) All Day
Wednesday, Oct 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer Marquette 3:00 PM BEDN GameTracker Watch
Friday, Oct 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Villanova 1:00 PM GameTracker
Women's Volleyball at Xavier 3:00 PM
Saturday, Oct 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football Colgate 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Men's Soccer at Depaul 2:00 PM
Swimming & Diving Towson 1:00 PM
Women's Volleyball at Butler 6:00 PM
Sunday, Oct 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer Marquette 1:00 PM GameTracker
Field Hockey at Colgate 12:00 PM
Monday, Oct 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Golf The Georgetown Intercollegiate All Day
Tuesday, Oct 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Golf The Georgetown Intercollegiate All Day
Thursday, Oct 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer Seton Hall 3:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Oct 23
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Temple 3:00 PM
Swimming & Diving at William & Mary 5:00 PM
Women's Volleyball St. John's 8:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Oct 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football at Bucknell 1:00 PM
Men's Soccer at St. John's 7:00 PM BEDN Watch
Swimming & Diving at Davidson 1:00 PM
Women's Golf at Blue Hen Invitational (Delaware) All Day
Sunday, Oct 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at Depaul 1:00 PM
Field Hockey at Saint Joseph's 2:00 PM
Women's Golf at Blue Hen Invitational (Delaware) All Day
Monday, Oct 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Golf at The Homewood Suites FGCU Invite All Day
Hosted by FGCU and Temple
Tuesday, Oct 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Golf at The Homewood Suites FGCU Invite All Day
Wednesday, Oct 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer Seton Hall 2:00 PM BEDN GameTracker Watch
Friday, Oct 30
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer Creighton 2:30 PM GameTracker
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas