Georgetown Student-Athletes Participate in Wreaths Across America

As Georgetown University student-athletes have done in years past, several Hoyas took a break from final exams over the weekend to take part in Wreaths Across America at Arlington National Cemetery in Northern Virginia.

Photo Gallery

Dec. 16, 2013

WASHINGTON - As Georgetown University student-athletes have done in years past, several Hoyas took a break from final exams over the weekend to take part in Wreaths Across America at Arlington National Cemetery in Northern Virginia.

Six years ago, former Hoya football player Jon Cassidy (C'10) had a bunch of his teammates join him at the cemetery for what has become an annual event.

Wreaths Across America program was started just over 20 years ago by the Worcester Wreath Company of Harrington, Maine. Volunteers place wreaths on the headstones of the United States fallen heroes at Arlington National Cemetery. Their mission statement is "Remember ... Honor ... Teach." Now, there are ceremonies like it at veteran's cemeteries all over the country.

"It was a great experience to join so many others from D.C. and around the country to honor those that have fallen protecting the rights that we as citizens enjoy every day," senior women's volleyball player Annalee Abell (Lexington, Ky./Henry Clay), who is president of Georgetown's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, said. "I am super proud that SAAC was able to take part this year despite the busy schedule of exams."

Abell and several of her classmates were able to participate in the event, in which more than 100,000 remembrance wreaths were placed on headstones.

"Wreaths Across America was a day where you feel proud to be American," senior football player Dan Sprotte (Garden City, N.Y./Chaminade) said. "To see the thousands of people turn out to pay respect to the veterans who gave the most to our country was a powerful experience. I highly recommend going if you get the chance."

"It was great being able to take a break from exam week by going to honor the men and women who served out country," sophomore rower Derek Boyse (Washington, D.C./Groton School) said.

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Wednesday, Aug 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at American 5:00 PM
Saturday, Aug 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer at Elon TBA
Women's Soccer Maryland 5:00 PM
Tuesday, Aug 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer at Duke TBA
Wednesday, Aug 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Lehigh TBA
Friday, Aug 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer Towson 4:00 PM
Saturday, Aug 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer at Virginia TBA
Sunday, Aug 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer Stanford 12:00 PM
Thursday, Aug 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer Delaware 4:00 PM
Friday, Aug 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer at Akron 7:30 PM
Field Hockey at Davidson 6:00 PM
Sunday, Aug 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer vs West Virginia 2:00 PM
Women's Soccer Colorado College 1:00 PM
Field Hockey at Appalachian State 12:00 PM
Friday, Sept 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer at Maryland 7:30 PM
Women's Soccer at Rutgers 7:00 PM
Field Hockey at Rider 7:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 3
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football Davidson 1:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Sept 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Monmouth N.J. 12:00 PM
Monday, Sept 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer Virginia Tech 1:00 PM GameTracker
Thursday, Sept 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer George Mason 4:00 PM
Friday, Sept 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey William & Mary 1:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Football at Marist 6:00 PM GameTracker
Men's Soccer UConn 1:00 PM GameTracker
Field Hockey at Saint Francis (PA) 1:00 PM
Sunday, Sept 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer Virginia 1:00 PM
Monday, Sept 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Golf at The Sam Hall Intercollegiate (Southern Mississippi) All Day
Tuesday, Sept 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer at William & Mary 7:00 PM
Men's Golf at The Sam Hall Intercollegiate (Southern Mississippi) All Day
Thursday, Sept 15
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at George Washington 3:00 PM
Friday, Sept 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey vs Quinnipiac 3:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Soccer at Providence 7:00 PM
Sunday, Sept 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at West Virginia 1:00 PM
Field Hockey at Yale 2:30 PM
Friday, Sept 23
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Old Dominion 1:00 PM
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live