» «

Michael J. Callahan
Michael J.  Callahan

High School:
Georgetown (F '97)

Last College:
Georgetown (F '97)

Head Coach


Snow Named College Sailor of the Year as Georgetown Finishes Fifth at ICSA Gill Coed National Championships

Nevin Snow becomes the fifth Hoya to be win the Everett B. Morris Memorial Trophy


Georgetown Sailing in Third Place of the Eastern Semifinals at the 2015 ICSA Gill Coed Nationals

With 86 points, the Hoyas trail Boston College (76) and the College of Charleston (82) in the eastern fleet


Georgetown Coed Sailing Wins America Trophy

Nevin Snow named MAISA College Sailor of the Year


Georgetown Sailing Receives New Fleet of 27 Boats


Georgetown Sailing Represents United States at World University Match Racing Championship

Nevin Snow, Alex Post, AJ Reiter and Katia DaSilva travel to Trentino, Italy

Michael J. Callahan was selected to be Head Coach of the Georgetown University Sailing Team (GUST) in August 1998. Callahan initially joined the athletic department as an assistant sailing coach in August 1997. During the 1999-2000, 2000-01 and again in the 2005-06 season, Callahan was the recipient of the Outstanding Coaching Achievement Award, an honor presented by Hoyas Unlimited to the most outstanding Hoya coach from the past season. To date, the award has been bestowed upon Callahan more than any other Georgetown coach.

In the fall of 2006, Georgetown won the Middle Atlantic Intercollegiate Sailing Association (MAISA) Conference coed championship, winning the War Memorial Regatta for the first time in the school's history and the women's team won the MAISA Fall Championship, sweeping both A and B divisions. At the end of the fall season the Georgetown coed team was ranked No. 3 nationally and the women's team was ranked fifth. In the spring of 2007 the Hoyas won the conference's Fleet Racing Championship, the America Trophy, for the first time and finished in the top 10 at both the Coed and Women's National Championships. The Hoyas' success continued in the fall as both Hoya teams ranked in the top five in the nation.

The 2005-06 season was one of the most memorable and successful seasons in GUST history as the Hoyas were awarded the Leonard M. Fowle Trophy for best overall collegiate team for the first time in program history. The Hoyas won the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) National Team Race Championship and ICSA Singlehanded North American Championship while placing second in the ICSA National Women's and Coed Dinghy Championships, as well as the ICSA Sloop North American Championship. The women's teams second-place finish in the national championships was also their best performance ever.

In addition, Georgetown sailor Andrew Campbell was named College Sailor of the Year and five Georgetown sailors were honored as All-Americans with an additional team member receiving All-American honorable mention. Campbell, who captained the team and was a four-time recipient of All-America honors, graduated in 2006 and will compete for the United States at the 2008 Summer Olympics.

In 2000-01, Callahan led the coed team to their first-ever ICSA Team Race National Championship. The Hoyas finished the season with an impressive overall record of 18-3 to win the ICSA Team Race National Championship. By 2001, Georgetown had earned more All-America accolades in Callahan's first three years than they had in the past 61 years combined. After Callahan's nine years as coach, GUST has received 40 All-America honors and the program has won five national championships.

Callahan currently serves as Graduate Chairman of MAISA and is on the Executive Committee of the ICSA, along with a host of other commitments, including the Sailing World Coaches Panel, which determines college rankings. He is Chairman of the ICSA Competition Committee which has done tremendous work in mainstreaming college sailing as a collegiate sport. Callahan has also been the Sailing School Director at the New Bedford Yacht Club in South Dartmouth, Mass. for the past seven years overseeing a junior sailing school with close to 200 sailors.

Callahan is a 1997 graduate of the Georgetown University School of Foreign Service, where he majored in European history and diplomacy. He sailed for Georgetown as an undergraduate and captained the team his senior year. In the spring of 1996, Callahan was awarded the prestigious Commodore's Cup, given annually to the sailor who has shown the most dedication to the team. Callahan is a 1993 graduate of Tabor Academy in Marion, Mass. where he was a four-year member and captain of the Tabor sailing team. While at Tabor, he was part of the two-time High School National Team Race Championship teams and also won the B division at the Mallory Trophy his junior year.

More Headlines
Top Videos
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Saturday, Jan 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Sailing at Rose Bowl Regatta All Day
Sunday, Jan 3
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Sailing at Rose Bowl Regatta All Day
Online Stores & Tickets
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live