Georgetown Sailing Captures 2016 ICSA Match Racing National Championship

Photo Credit: Bronny Daniels/Joysailing
Nov. 21, 2016

Photo Gallery 

WASHINGTON - The Georgetown University sailing team captured its 14th national championship in program history on Sunday as the Hoyas defeated Hobart & William Smith Colleges in the finals of the Intercollegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) Match Racing National Championship. It is the third match racing national title in four years for the Hoyas, previously winning back-to-back titles in 2013 and 2014. The three-day championship took place on the San Diego Bay and was hosted by the San Diego Yacht Club.

“I’m incredibly proud of the team and how hard they worked,” Head Coach Michael J. Callahan said. “Winning it three out of four years is a great accomplishment for the team. It’s a great testament to the work the athletes have put in over the years. Assistant Coach Janel Zarkowsky, ranked No. 3 in women’s match racing nationally, brings a wealth of knowledge to this team and it’s showing in the results.”

In the boat for GU was AJ Reiter (San Diego, Calif./Point Loma), Meaghan MacRae (Melrose, Mass./Tabor Academy), Sean Segerblom and Roger Dorr (Sands Point, N.Y./St. George’s School).

Georgetown went through the first stage, a round robin, with a record of 8-1 in the 10-team field, with its only loss at the hands of the College of Charleston.

The Blue & Gray pushed past the University of Wisconsin, 2-0, in the quarterfinals and proceeded to defeat Dartmouth, 2-1, in the semifinals to set up the final against HWS.

Due to slow winds at the end of the day, the race committee changed the finals format to declaring the first team to two points as the winner, just like the previous two rounds. The Hoyas did not let up as they blanked Hobart & William Smith, 2-0, in the finals.

This is the 14th ICSA national title in program history, all coming under the tutelage of Callahan.

Overall Match Racing Results
1. Georgetown University (14 wins)
2. Hobart & William Smith Colleges (11 wins)
3. Dartmouth College (11 wins)
4. College of Charleston (9 wins)
5. University of Southern California (6 wins)
6. University of South Florida (5 wins)
7. Boston College (4 wins)
8. University of Wisconsin (1 win)
9. Texas A&M University Galveston (3 wins)
10. University of Washington (1 win)



More Headlines
Hoyas Win Navy Fall Coed Regatta, Broussard Qualifies for... The Georgetown University sailing team continued its strong season with a... Georgetown Sailing Claims Four Wins Over Last Two Weekends The Georgetown University sailing team continued its strong season with a... Hoyas Win Two of Three Regattas to Start the Fall Season The Georgetown University sailing teams opened its 2017-18 season last... Georgetown Finishes Sixth at ICSA Coed National... Following two days of finals in an 18-boat final, the Georgetown University...
Shop Now


widget powered by zoomph


January 6
All Day
Rose Bowl Regatta
Los Angeles, Calif.
January 7
All Day
Rose Bowl Regatta
Los Angeles, Calif.