Chris Behm Named College Sailor of the Year; Four Other Hoyas Earn All-America Honors

June 6, 2008

Newport, R.I. - The Georgetown University sailing team earned a host of individual awards following the team's first-ever ICSA/Gill Fleet National Championship.

Senior Chris Behm (Hampton, Va./Hampton Roads Academy) was awared the Everett B. Morris Trophy, given to the College Sailor of the Year.

Behm was the Hoya's skipper on the A Division boat that sailed to the program's first-ever ICSA/Gill Fleet Racing National Championship. Behm helped the A Division boat to 1-2-2 finishes in its final three races as the Blue and Gray sealed the victory.

Behm, who also garnered Coed All-America honors as a senior, skippered the Hoyas' A Division boat to notable wins in the MAISA conferece champioship, the Atlantic Coast Championship and the ICSA West Region Semifinals this year.

The two-time All-American is the Hoyas second college sailor of the year (Andrew Campbell in 2006).

Four more Georgetown student-athletes earned All-America honors.

Senior Blaire Herron (Coronado, Calif./Coronado) was named a Women's All-American for the second straight year.

Herron picks up All-American recognition for the fourth straight year. She was an All-American last year as a junior after earning All-America honorable mention accolades as a freshman and sophomore.

Senior Leigh Fogwell (Greenwich, Conn./Greenwich) and junior Carly Chamberlain (Newport Beach, Calif./Newport Harbor) took home Crew All-America honors. It is the first All-America honor for Fogwell while Chamberlain wins the honor for the second time.

Charlie Buckingham (Newport Beach, Calif./Newport Harbor) becomes the only freshman All-American in the nation. Buckingham skippered Georgetown to a Fleet Racing National Championship B Division-best 97 points.



Buckingham and crew, sophomore Alexandra Taylor (Hobe Sound, Fla./The Benjamin School) won the Robert Allan Junior Trophy for most points in the B Division at the Fleet Racing National Championship. The duo combined for 97 points and 11 top five finishes over the 18-race event.

2008 Everett B. Morris Trophy (College Sailor of the Year)
Chris Behm, Sr., skipper

Women's All-American
Blaire Herron, Sr., skipper

Coed All-American
Chris Behm, Sr., skipper
Charlie Buckingham, Fr., skipper

Crew All-American
Leigh Fogwell, Sr.
Carly Chamberlain, Jr.

More Headlines
Top Videos
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
There are no upcoming events.
Online Stores & Tickets
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live