Georgetown Uses Three-Run Eighth Inning to Beat Valparaiso, 4-3

GUHOYAS.COM Georgetown scored three times in the eighth to beat Valparaiso, 4-3.
GUHOYAS.COM
Georgetown scored three times in the eighth to beat Valparaiso, 4-3.
GUHOYAS.COM

March 5, 2013

Box Score

Georgetown 4, Valpo 3 Get Acrobat Reader

WASHINGTON - Georgetown scored three times in the bottom of the eighth inning and senior left-hander Thomas Polus (Crown Point, Ind./Andrean) went eight innings as the Hoyas beat Valparaiso, 4-3, at North Charlotte Park in Port Charlotte, Fla. at the Snowbird Classic Monday afternoon.

Georgetown improves to 4-4 overall with the win, while Valpo falls to 2-7.

Polus went 8.0 innings and gave up three runs on seven hits with one walk and four strikeouts to even his record at 1-1 this season.

The senior southpaw gave up one run in the second and two more in the fourth, but he allowed only two base hits in the final four innings to secure the win.

Senior reliever Charles Steinman (Rockville Centre, N.Y./Chaminade) allowed only a two-out single in the ninth, and induced a ground ball for the final out to record his second save this season.

Trailing 3-1 in the bottom of the eighth inning, senior center fielder Justin Leeson (Exton, Pa./West Chester) and junior first baseman Steve Anderson (Albany, N.Y./Guilderland) each singled to put runners on first and second with none out. Senior second baseman Danny Poplawski (Bellevue, Wash./The Overlake School) followed with a two-run double to left, scoring both runners and tying the game at 3-all.

Freshman Nick Collins (Carthage, N.C./Union Pines) broke the tie in the next at-bat with a double to right-center, scoring Poplawski to give GU a 4-3 lead. Valpo would get out of the inning without another run scoring, but Steinman closed the door for the Hoya win.

"Tommy pitched really well," Head Coach Pete Wilk said. "We had a great eighth inning and Charlie closed it down. It was a good win for us."

The Hoyas had taken a 1-0 lead in the first when freshman shortstop Curtis Pomeroy (Shrewsbury, Mass./Saint John's) singled, stole second, moved to third on a ground out and scored on Leeson's sacrifice fly.

Curtiss Pomeroy (Shrewsbury, Mass./Saint John's) and Webber singled to put runners on first and second, but Michigan pitcher Ben Ballantine retired the final two batters to end the threat.

Georgetown continues play in the Snowbird Classic on Tuesday, March 5, playing Toledo. First pitch is slated for 5:30 p.m.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Friday, Feb 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Wake Forest 6:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Feb 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs VMI 12:00 PM
Sunday, Feb 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs UMBC 10:00 AM
Friday, Feb 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 6:00 PM
Saturday, Feb 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 2:00 PM
Sunday, Feb 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 1:00 PM
Wednesday, Mar 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball UMBC 2:30 PM Watch
Friday, Mar 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Florida Atlantic 6:30 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Mar 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Florida Atlantic 4:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Mar 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Florida Atlantic 12:00 PM GameTracker
Tuesday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs TBD 2:30 PM
Wednesday, Mar 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Western Michigan 11:00 AM
Friday, Mar 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Penn TBA
Saturday, Mar 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Penn TBA
Sunday, Mar 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Penn TBA
Tuesday, Mar 15
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Yale 3:00 PM Watch
Thursday, Mar 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Princeton 3:00 PM Watch
Friday, Mar 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Princeton 3:00 PM Watch
Saturday, Mar 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Princeton 1:00 PM Watch
Sunday, Mar 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Princeton 1:00 PM Watch
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live