Georgetown Handcuffed by George Mason Pitchers, Lose 6-1

GUHOYAS.COM Dan Godefroi picked up the only Hoya run on a solo homer in the fifth.
GUHOYAS.COM
Dan Godefroi picked up the only Hoya run on a solo homer in the fifth.
GUHOYAS.COM

April 1, 2009

Box Score

Washington, D.C. - The Georgetown University baseball team struck out 17 times in a 6-1 loss at George Mason on Wednesday afternoon. The Patriots have now taken five straight and eight of the past nine against the Hoyas. The two teams will square-off again in two weeks, April 15, from Shirley Povich Field at 7 p.m.

Trailing 2-0 in the fifth, Dan Godefroi (Andover, Mass./Andover) hit a solo bomb off the top of the scoreboard in right-center to start the inning and cut the deficit in half. The home run was the third of the season for the sophomore.

Tommy Isaacs (Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla./Bolles) earned the start for GU and allowed four runs over six innings. Billy Concannon (Dallas, Texas/St. Mark's School) and Jared Cohen (Phoenixville, Pa./The Haverford School) came on in relief before Bobby Kirby (Bel Air, Md./Loyola Blakefield) threw a scoreless ninth for the Hoyas.

For GMU, freshman Ryan Pfaeffle struck out 10 over 5 1/3 innings to pick up his first collegiate win in just his second start. Scott Krieger homered and drove in three runs, Chris Henderson had three hits and two runs and Justin Bour and Mark Hill each had two hits. The Patriots also increased their home winning streak to 17, one shy of the school record.

The Hoyas will head to Morgantown, W. Va. this weekend to play a three-game series against WVU. The teams start off with a 5 p.m. contest on Friday.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Wednesday, Apr 29
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Navy 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, May 1
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball St. John's 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Saturday, May 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball St. John's 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, May 3
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball St. John's 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, May 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Butler 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Saturday, May 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Butler 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, May 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Butler 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Tuesday, May 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at UMBC (7 innings) 6:00 PM
Baseball at UMBC (7 innings) TBA
Thursday, May 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Seton Hall 6:00 PM GameTracker
Friday, May 15
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Seton Hall 1:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, May 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Seton Hall 12:00 PM GameTracker
Wednesday, May 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs TBD TBA
Thursday, May 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs TBD TBA
Friday, May 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs TBD TBA
Saturday, May 23
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs TBD TBA
Sunday, May 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs TBD TBA
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas