Hoyas Down Coppin State 16-2

GUHOYAS.COM Danny Gronski tallied two runs, one hit, and a RBI
GUHOYAS.COM
Danny Gronski tallied two runs, one hit, and a RBI
GUHOYAS.COM

April 5, 2005

Box Score

Glen Burie, MD--The Georgetown University baseball team defeated Coppin State 16-2 on Tuesday, April 5, 2005 at the Bachman Sportsplex. Matt Johnson led the Hoyas with three runs, four hits, and four RBI.

Georgetown started the scoring early, with Timmy Jones scoring on a Jim Supple double. Supple then scored on a throwing error to make the score 2-0. Parker Brooks singled to center two plays later to bring in Johnson to bring the score 3-0.

Coppin State answered back in the bottom of the second, scoring one run. Paul Conway singled to left to score Nick Wenger. Georgetown's Jones scored in the top of the third off a single by Johnson to extend the Hoyas lead to 4-1.

Coppin State notched another run in the fourth when Wenger scored his second run of the game off a hit by Carlos D'Costa. That would be the last run Coppin State would score.

The Hoyas got the offense going in the sixth, scoring three runs. Mark McLaughlin doubled to right field, bringing in Danny Gronski and Johnson. Billy Quinn then hit a sacrifice fly to right field, scoring McLaughlin to make the score 7-2. In the seventh, the Hoyas scored one run by Supple on a passed ball, to extend the lead to 8-2.

Georgetown's bats exploded in the ninth, scoring eight runs. Matthew Maranges scored the first run on a throwing error, to be followed with Jones nailing a single to left, who brought in Derek deGrijs and McLaughlin. Johnson doubled two plays later, scoring Jones and Andrew Cleary. Gronski then singled, scoring Johnson and Supple. McLaughlin singled two plays later, to score Gronski. The eight runs extended the lead to 16-2, which would remain the final.


 

 

Georgetown's Michael Halloran earned the win, while Coppin State's Bill Auch was credited with the loss.

Georgetown will next travel to Mount St. Mary's on Wednesday, April 6. First pitch is set for 3:00 pm.

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Sunday, Mar 29
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Lipscomb L, 4-1 Lipscomb Stats
Tuesday, Mar 31
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at George Mason 3:00 PM
Thursday, Apr 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Creighton 3:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Apr 3
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Creighton 4:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Saturday, Apr 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Creighton 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Tuesday, Apr 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Coppin State 3:00 PM
Friday, Apr 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Villanova 3:15 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Apr 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Villanova 1:15 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Apr 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Villanova 1:15 PM GameTracker
Tuesday, Apr 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball George Mason 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Saturday, Apr 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Stony Brook 12:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Baseball Stony Brook 3:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Apr 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Stony Brook 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Tuesday, Apr 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Coppin State 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Wednesday, Apr 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball UMES (7 innings) 5:00 PM
Baseball UMES (7 innings) 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Apr 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Xavier 3:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Apr 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Xavier 1:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Apr 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Xavier 12:00 PM GameTracker
Wednesday, Apr 29
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Navy 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas