Hoyas Swept by Villanova, Fall 5-1.

GUHOYAS.COM Sophomore Jack Bender pitched well during his four innings of relief, allowing only one run on four hits against the Wildcats.
GUHOYAS.COM
Sophomore Jack Bender pitched well during his four innings of relief, allowing only one run on four hits against the Wildcats.
GUHOYAS.COM

April 6, 2008

Box Score

Washington, D.C. - The Georgetown University baseball team was able to score in the first inning, but Villanova answered in the bottom half of the frame en route to a 5-1 victory over the Hoyas on Sunday afternoon in Plymouth Meeting, Pa.

GU was able to draw first blood with two outs in the beginning inning, after senior Matt Iannetta singled up the middle and freshman Erick Fernandez walked. Freshman Sean Lamont would drive in his team-leading 23rd RBI with a base-hit to center that put the Hoyas in front, 1-0.

Villanova would score two in the bottom half of the inning off freshman Dan Godefroi who threw four innings. Sophomore Jack Bender finished the game with four strong innings of relief, allowing only one run and four hits.

Trailing 5-1 in the eighth, the Hoyas loaded the bases but were unable to bring anyone home. The Hoyas recorded six hits during the final eight innings of the contest, with two in the second and single hits in the third, fifth, eighth and ninth.

The Blue and Gray return to action Tuesday, April 8 when they travel to Princess Anne, Md. for a non-conference matchup with Maryland-Eastern Shore at 3 p.m.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Sunday, Apr 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Xavier 11:30 AM GameTracker
Baseball at Xavier 2:30 PM GameTracker
Wednesday, Apr 29
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Navy 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, May 1
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball St. John's 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Saturday, May 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball St. John's 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, May 3
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball St. John's 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, May 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Butler 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Saturday, May 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Butler 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, May 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Butler 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Tuesday, May 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at UMBC (7 innings) 6:00 PM
Baseball at UMBC (7 innings) TBA
Thursday, May 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Seton Hall 6:00 PM GameTracker
Friday, May 15
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Seton Hall 1:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, May 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Seton Hall 12:00 PM GameTracker
Wednesday, May 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs TBD TBA
Thursday, May 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs TBD TBA
Friday, May 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs TBD TBA
Saturday, May 23
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs TBD TBA
Sunday, May 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs TBD TBA
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas