Hoyas Swept by Villanova, Fall 5-1.

GUHOYAS.COM Sophomore Jack Bender pitched well during his four innings of relief, allowing only one run on four hits against the Wildcats.
GUHOYAS.COM
Sophomore Jack Bender pitched well during his four innings of relief, allowing only one run on four hits against the Wildcats.
GUHOYAS.COM

April 6, 2008

Box Score

Washington, D.C. - The Georgetown University baseball team was able to score in the first inning, but Villanova answered in the bottom half of the frame en route to a 5-1 victory over the Hoyas on Sunday afternoon in Plymouth Meeting, Pa.

GU was able to draw first blood with two outs in the beginning inning, after senior Matt Iannetta singled up the middle and freshman Erick Fernandez walked. Freshman Sean Lamont would drive in his team-leading 23rd RBI with a base-hit to center that put the Hoyas in front, 1-0.

Villanova would score two in the bottom half of the inning off freshman Dan Godefroi who threw four innings. Sophomore Jack Bender finished the game with four strong innings of relief, allowing only one run and four hits.

Trailing 5-1 in the eighth, the Hoyas loaded the bases but were unable to bring anyone home. The Hoyas recorded six hits during the final eight innings of the contest, with two in the second and single hits in the third, fifth, eighth and ninth.

The Blue and Gray return to action Tuesday, April 8 when they travel to Princess Anne, Md. for a non-conference matchup with Maryland-Eastern Shore at 3 p.m.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Tuesday, Mar 3
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball UMBC Postponed GameTracker Watch
Wednesday, Mar 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at George Washington 2:30 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Mar 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Illinois State 10:30 AM GameTracker
Sunday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Northwestern 10:00 AM GameTracker
Baseball vs Northwestern 1:00 PM GameTracker
Monday, Mar 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Western Michigan 5:00 PM GameTracker
Wednesday, Mar 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Lehigh 3:00 PM GameTracker
Friday, Mar 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Western Michigan 5:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Mar 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Lehigh 11:00 AM GameTracker
Wednesday, Mar 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Navy 3:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Mar 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Brown 12:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Baseball Brown 3:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Mar 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Brown 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Tuesday, Mar 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Virginia 4:00 PM GameTracker
Wednesday, Mar 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Maryland Eastern Shore 3:00 PM
Friday, Mar 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Lipscomb 7:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Lipscomb 3:00 PM
Sunday, Mar 29
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Lipscomb 2:00 PM
Tuesday, Mar 31
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at George Mason 3:00 PM
Thursday, Apr 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Creighton 3:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas