Hoyas Swept by Villanova, Fall 5-1.

GUHOYAS.COM Sophomore Jack Bender pitched well during his four innings of relief, allowing only one run on four hits against the Wildcats.
GUHOYAS.COM
Sophomore Jack Bender pitched well during his four innings of relief, allowing only one run on four hits against the Wildcats.
GUHOYAS.COM

April 6, 2008

Box Score

Washington, D.C. - The Georgetown University baseball team was able to score in the first inning, but Villanova answered in the bottom half of the frame en route to a 5-1 victory over the Hoyas on Sunday afternoon in Plymouth Meeting, Pa.

GU was able to draw first blood with two outs in the beginning inning, after senior Matt Iannetta singled up the middle and freshman Erick Fernandez walked. Freshman Sean Lamont would drive in his team-leading 23rd RBI with a base-hit to center that put the Hoyas in front, 1-0.

Villanova would score two in the bottom half of the inning off freshman Dan Godefroi who threw four innings. Sophomore Jack Bender finished the game with four strong innings of relief, allowing only one run and four hits.

Trailing 5-1 in the eighth, the Hoyas loaded the bases but were unable to bring anyone home. The Hoyas recorded six hits during the final eight innings of the contest, with two in the second and single hits in the third, fifth, eighth and ninth.

The Blue and Gray return to action Tuesday, April 8 when they travel to Princess Anne, Md. for a non-conference matchup with Maryland-Eastern Shore at 3 p.m.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Tuesday, Mar 31
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at George Mason W, 16-9 George Mason LiveStats
Thursday, Apr 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Creighton 3:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Apr 3
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Creighton 4:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Saturday, Apr 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Creighton 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Tuesday, Apr 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Coppin State 3:00 PM
Friday, Apr 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Villanova 3:15 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Apr 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Villanova 1:15 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Apr 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Villanova 1:15 PM GameTracker
Tuesday, Apr 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball George Mason 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Saturday, Apr 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Stony Brook 12:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Baseball Stony Brook 3:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Apr 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Stony Brook 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Tuesday, Apr 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Coppin State 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Wednesday, Apr 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball UMES (7 innings) 5:00 PM
Baseball UMES (7 innings) 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Apr 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Xavier 3:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Apr 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Xavier 1:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Apr 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Xavier 12:00 PM GameTracker
Wednesday, Apr 29
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Navy 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, May 1
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball St. John's 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas