Hoyas Drop First Game of Weekend Series at Pittsburgh, 9-2.

GUHOYAS.COM Senior Matt Iannetta drove in one of the two Hoya runs on the evening.
GUHOYAS.COM
Senior Matt Iannetta drove in one of the two Hoya runs on the evening.
GUHOYAS.COM

April 25, 2008

Box Score

Washington, D.C. - The Georgetown University baseball team dropped a BIG EAST game to Pittsburgh on Friday evening at Trees Field in Pittsburgh, Pa., 9-2. The Hoyas held the lead until the Panthers scored six runs in the fourth inning to break the game open.

Sophomore Tim Adleman struggled with the start, allowing seven runs over three and two-thirds innings. Senior Grady McConnell pitched two and one-third before being relieved by freshman Dan Godefroi, who closed the game with two innings of one-hit ball.

Seven Pittsburgh players recorded multiple hits and four players drove in two runs apiece during the game. Pittsburgh sophomore lefthander Nate Reed threw a three-hit complete game and struck out nine Hoya batters.

Georgetown took the lead in the first when sophomore Tommy Lee legged out an infield single and proceeded to steal second. After a GU out, senior Matt Harrigan delivered with a RBI single for the early lead.

After Pittsburgh tied the game in the second, sophomore Tom led-off with a walk and just like Lee had done, stole second base. After a groundout moved Elliott up to third, senior Matt Iannetta brought the Hoya shortstop home with a sacrifice fly to left.

The Hoyas and Panthers will play a doubleheader tomorrow at Trees Field in Pittsburgh, Pa., starting at 1 p.m.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Friday, Feb 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs VCU 10:00 AM GameTracker
Saturday, Feb 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Bucknell 2:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Feb 15
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Delaware 10:00 AM GameTracker
Wednesday, Feb 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at George Washington 2:30 PM GameTracker
Friday, Feb 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Fairfield 3:00 PM
Saturday, Feb 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Fairfield 1:00 PM
Sunday, Feb 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Fairfield 1:00 PM
Friday, Feb 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 6:00 PM
Saturday, Feb 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 2:00 PM
Sunday, Mar 1
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 1:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Illinois State 10:30 AM
Sunday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Northwestern 10:00 AM
Baseball vs Northwestern 1:00 PM
Monday, Mar 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Western Michigan 5:00 PM
Wednesday, Mar 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Lehigh 3:00 PM
Friday, Mar 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Western Michigan 5:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Lehigh 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Mar 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Navy 3:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Brown 12:00 PM
Baseball Brown 3:00 PM
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas