Hoyas Swept in Saturday Doubleheader at Rutgers

GUHOYAS.COM Georgetown was swept in a doubleheader at Rutgers.
GUHOYAS.COM
Georgetown was swept in a doubleheader at Rutgers.
GUHOYAS.COM

May 11, 2013

Box Score

Rutgers 7, Georgetown 1 Get Acrobat Reader

Rutgers 17, Georgetown 3 Get Acrobat Reader

WASHINGTON - Georgetown took an early lead in the first inning of the nightcap, but host Rutgers scored five runs in the seventh inning en route to a 7-1 win over the Hoyas, completing a BIG EAST baseball doubleheader sweep at Bainton Field Saturday afternoon. The Scarlet Knights won the first game 17-3.

Georgetown falls to 25-23 overall, including a 5-15 mark in the BIG EAST. The Hoyas have lost eight-straight BIG EAST games and 10 of their last 11 in league play. Rutgers improved to 24-26 overall and 12-8 in the BIG EAST.

The Hoyas jumped out to a 1-0 lead in the first inning of the second game, with senior center fielder Justin Leeson (Exton, Pa./West Chester) hitting a solo home run to give GU a 1-0 lead.

Behind a solid start from sophomore Matt Hollenbeck (Horsham, Pa./Hatboro-Horsham), Georgetown maintained its lead through the fifth inning. Hollenbeck put two runners on base in the first inning but retired nine of the next 10 batters - giving up only a two-out, third inning single - then induced an inning ending double play in the fifth inning.

Rutgers, however, took the lead for good in the sixth, scoring two times to take a 2-1 lead. Hollenbeck went 5.2 innings, giving up two runs on four hits, with three walks and two strikeouts, falling to 1-6 this season.

Senior reliever Neal Dennison (Houston, Texas/Lamar) entered the game in the sixth and threw one-third of an inning, giving up four earned runs on two hits and two walks. Freshman Tim Davis (Vienna, Va./James Madison) pitched the final two innings, giving up one run.

Leeson went 2-for-4 with one run and one RBI, while senior Corbin Blakey (Alpharetta, Ga./Centennial) had a pair of hits.

In the opener, Georgetown trailed only 1-0 in the fifth inning, but Rutgers sent 16 batters to the plate and scored 11 runs en route to a 17-3 win over the Hoyas.

Freshman starting pitcher Matt Smith (Cranberry Township, Pa./Seneca Valley) went 4.1 innings, giving up 11 runs (eight earned) on 10 hits, with two walks and one strikeout.

Junior first baseman Steve Anderson (Albany, N.Y./Guilderland) hit a two-run triple in the ninth inning.

The series concludes on Sunday, May 12 at 1 p.m.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Friday, Feb 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Wake Forest 6:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Feb 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs VMI 12:00 PM
Sunday, Feb 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs UMBC 10:00 AM
Friday, Feb 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 6:00 PM
Saturday, Feb 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 2:00 PM
Sunday, Feb 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 1:00 PM
Wednesday, Mar 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball UMBC 2:30 PM Watch
Friday, Mar 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Florida Atlantic 6:30 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Mar 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Florida Atlantic 4:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Mar 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Florida Atlantic 12:00 PM GameTracker
Tuesday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs TBD 2:30 PM
Wednesday, Mar 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Western Michigan 11:00 AM
Friday, Mar 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Penn TBA
Saturday, Mar 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Penn TBA
Sunday, Mar 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Penn TBA
Tuesday, Mar 15
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Yale 3:00 PM Watch
Thursday, Mar 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Princeton 3:00 PM Watch
Friday, Mar 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Princeton 3:00 PM Watch
Saturday, Mar 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Princeton 1:00 PM Watch
Sunday, Mar 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Princeton 1:00 PM Watch
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live