Four Georgetown Baseball players declared ineligible for 10 games

GUHOYAS.COM
GUHOYAS.COM

GUHOYAS.COM

Feb. 21, 2008

Washington DC - Georgetown University Director of Athletics Bernard Muir announced today that four members of the baseball team are ineligible for the first ten games of the season due to violations of the NCAA extra benefits rule. They are: Mike Gaggioli; Matt Iannetta; Matt Harrigan and Matt Maranges.

"The Department of Athletics discovered this violation as part of its regular compliance efforts." Director Muir said. "Georgetown reported this issue to the NCAA and continues to work cooperatively with the NCAA staff on this matter"

Mike Gaggioli, a senior, was a third team All BIG EAST Selection last season. The 6-1, 200 lb left hander had 14 starts as a junior.

Matt Iannetta joined the Hoyas after playing 2 years at North Carolina. A 6-0, 195 lb senior catcher, he had 21 runs and 27 RBIs over 47 starts last year.

Matt Harrigan, a 6-2, 181 lb senior outfielder/1st baseman batted .280 last season and had a .390 slugging percentage.

Matt Maranges is a 6-0, 185 lb senior infielder. Last season he was second on the team in fielding assists.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Tuesday, Mar 3
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball UMBC Postponed GameTracker
Wednesday, Mar 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at George Washington 2:30 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Mar 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Illinois State 10:30 AM GameTracker
Sunday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Northwestern 10:00 AM GameTracker
Baseball vs Northwestern 1:00 PM GameTracker
Monday, Mar 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Western Michigan 5:00 PM GameTracker
Wednesday, Mar 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Lehigh 3:00 PM GameTracker
Friday, Mar 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Western Michigan 5:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Mar 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Lehigh 11:00 AM GameTracker
Wednesday, Mar 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Navy 3:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Mar 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Brown 12:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Baseball Brown 3:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Mar 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Brown 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Tuesday, Mar 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Virginia 4:00 PM GameTracker
Wednesday, Mar 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Maryland Eastern Shore 3:00 PM
Friday, Mar 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Lipscomb 7:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Lipscomb 3:00 PM
Sunday, Mar 29
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Lipscomb 2:00 PM
Tuesday, Mar 31
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at George Mason 3:00 PM
Thursday, Apr 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Creighton 3:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas