Four Georgetown Baseball players declared ineligible for 10 games

GUHOYAS.COM
GUHOYAS.COM

GUHOYAS.COM

Feb. 21, 2008

Washington DC - Georgetown University Director of Athletics Bernard Muir announced today that four members of the baseball team are ineligible for the first ten games of the season due to violations of the NCAA extra benefits rule. They are: Mike Gaggioli; Matt Iannetta; Matt Harrigan and Matt Maranges.

"The Department of Athletics discovered this violation as part of its regular compliance efforts." Director Muir said. "Georgetown reported this issue to the NCAA and continues to work cooperatively with the NCAA staff on this matter"

Mike Gaggioli, a senior, was a third team All BIG EAST Selection last season. The 6-1, 200 lb left hander had 14 starts as a junior.

Matt Iannetta joined the Hoyas after playing 2 years at North Carolina. A 6-0, 195 lb senior catcher, he had 21 runs and 27 RBIs over 47 starts last year.

Matt Harrigan, a 6-2, 181 lb senior outfielder/1st baseman batted .280 last season and had a .390 slugging percentage.

Matt Maranges is a 6-0, 185 lb senior infielder. Last season he was second on the team in fielding assists.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Friday, Feb 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Wake Forest 6:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Feb 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs VMI 12:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Feb 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs UMBC 10:00 AM
Friday, Feb 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 6:00 PM
Saturday, Feb 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 2:00 PM
Sunday, Feb 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 1:00 PM
Wednesday, Mar 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball UMBC 2:30 PM Watch
Friday, Mar 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Florida Atlantic 6:30 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Mar 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Florida Atlantic 4:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Mar 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Florida Atlantic 12:00 PM GameTracker
Tuesday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs TBD 2:30 PM
Wednesday, Mar 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Western Michigan 11:00 AM
Friday, Mar 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Penn TBA
Saturday, Mar 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Penn TBA
Sunday, Mar 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Penn TBA
Tuesday, Mar 15
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Yale 3:00 PM Watch
Thursday, Mar 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Princeton 3:00 PM Watch
Friday, Mar 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Princeton 3:00 PM Watch
Saturday, Mar 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Princeton 1:00 PM Watch
Sunday, Mar 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Princeton 1:00 PM Watch
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live