Georgetown Drops Series Finale to UConn in Baseball

GUHOYAS.COM
GUHOYAS.COM

GUHOYAS.COM

March 23, 2003

Box Score

BETHESDA, Md. ? In the final row of a three game series, Georgetown (6-12, 1-5) fell to the UConn Huskies (7-8, 3-0) 6-4 Sunday at Shirley Povich Field.

Georgetown and UConn traded the lead early until an unfortunate fifth gave the Huskies a two-run surplus.  Despite some promising chances late, Georgetown could not break back into the game, dropping the final game of the series with UConn.

Warren Sizemore (Hamilton, Ohio/Ross) retired the first three batters he faced thanks to a pretty 4-6-3 double play and Andrew Cleary (Weston, Mass./Belmont Hill School) drove an RBI single through the left side in the Hoyas? half to put Georgetown up 1-0 in the first frame.  Georgetown turned two once again in the second, keeping the Huskies scoreless through three.

UConn managed to marshal an unearned run in the fourth, tying the score at 1-1 while Dan Trubia?s solo home run in the fifth and a sacrifice fly gave the Huskies two more, staking them to a 3-1 lead.

Georgetown rallied in the fifth with a double off the wall from Matt Carullo (Oakton, Va./Paul VI) and, with two outs, Cleary launched one to left field to tie the score at 3-3.  The Huskies brought two more across the plate on a GU fielding error to reclaim the lead, 5-3 after six.  UConn manufactured another run before the seventh inning stretch to extend the margin to 6-3.

Georgetown stranded two in the bottom of the seventh but a leadoff home run for Robert O?Hare (San Jose, Calif./Archbishop Mitty) in the eighth pulled the Hoyas within two, 6-4.  Unfortunately for the home side, closer Mike James retired three in a row in GU?s final at-bats to end the game.

Sizemore pitched five and two-thirds, giving up two hits and suffering his first lost of the season. 

Georgetown hosts UMBC in the next game on Wednesday, March 26 at 3 p.m. on Shirley Povich Field.  


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Wednesday, Mar 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at George Washington L, 5-1 GameTracker
Saturday, Mar 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Illinois State 10:30 AM GameTracker
Sunday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Northwestern 10:00 AM GameTracker
Baseball vs Northwestern 1:00 PM GameTracker
Monday, Mar 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Western Michigan 5:00 PM GameTracker
Wednesday, Mar 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Lehigh 3:00 PM GameTracker
Friday, Mar 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Western Michigan 5:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Mar 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Lehigh 11:00 AM GameTracker
Wednesday, Mar 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Navy 3:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Mar 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Brown 12:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Baseball Brown 3:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Mar 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Brown 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Tuesday, Mar 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Virginia 4:00 PM GameTracker
Wednesday, Mar 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Maryland Eastern Shore 3:00 PM
Friday, Mar 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Lipscomb 7:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Lipscomb 3:00 PM
Sunday, Mar 29
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Lipscomb 2:00 PM
Tuesday, Mar 31
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at George Mason 3:00 PM
Thursday, Apr 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Creighton 3:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Apr 3
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Creighton 4:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas