Gazitua and Sutton Named Baseball Team's Player's of the Week

GUHOYAS.COM
GUHOYAS.COM

GUHOYAS.COM

3/25/2002

Sophomore centerfielder Carlos Gazitua helped lead the Hoyas to their second BIG EAST win, a 6-3 decision over Seton Hall, in an overall 1-4 week.  He batted .412 (7-17) and finished with 12 total bases.  The sophomore collected two triples and a double at the plate while adding 14 putouts in the field.  In the win over Seton Hall Gazitua batted 2-for-4 with two RBIs and a run scored.  He tallied seven RBIs during the week bringing his season total to a team-leading 27.

Starting pitcher Eric Sutton earned his second consecutive overall and conference victory this week in the Hoyas 6-3 win over Seton Hall.  He nearly recorded his fourth complete game (7 GS) this year tossing 8.2 innings striking out five and walking just one.  Sutton allowed three runs on eight hits but also forced the Pirates into three double plays while facing only 33 batters out of a minimum of 26.  He is now 4-3 this season posting both of Georgetown?s BIG EAST wins.


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Friday, Feb 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs VCU 10:00 AM GameTracker
Saturday, Feb 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Bucknell 2:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Feb 15
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Delaware 10:00 AM GameTracker
Wednesday, Feb 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at George Washington 2:30 PM GameTracker
Friday, Feb 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Fairfield 3:00 PM
Saturday, Feb 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Fairfield 1:00 PM
Sunday, Feb 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Fairfield 1:00 PM
Friday, Feb 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 6:00 PM
Saturday, Feb 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 2:00 PM
Sunday, Mar 1
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 1:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Illinois State 10:30 AM
Sunday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Northwestern 10:00 AM
Baseball vs Northwestern 1:00 PM
Monday, Mar 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Western Michigan 5:00 PM
Wednesday, Mar 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Lehigh 3:00 PM
Friday, Mar 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Western Michigan 5:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Lehigh 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Mar 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Navy 3:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Brown 12:00 PM
Baseball Brown 3:00 PM
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas