Gazitua and Sutton Named Baseball Team's Player's of the Week

GUHOYAS.COM
GUHOYAS.COM

GUHOYAS.COM

3/25/2002

Sophomore centerfielder Carlos Gazitua helped lead the Hoyas to their second BIG EAST win, a 6-3 decision over Seton Hall, in an overall 1-4 week.  He batted .412 (7-17) and finished with 12 total bases.  The sophomore collected two triples and a double at the plate while adding 14 putouts in the field.  In the win over Seton Hall Gazitua batted 2-for-4 with two RBIs and a run scored.  He tallied seven RBIs during the week bringing his season total to a team-leading 27.

Starting pitcher Eric Sutton earned his second consecutive overall and conference victory this week in the Hoyas 6-3 win over Seton Hall.  He nearly recorded his fourth complete game (7 GS) this year tossing 8.2 innings striking out five and walking just one.  Sutton allowed three runs on eight hits but also forced the Pirates into three double plays while facing only 33 batters out of a minimum of 26.  He is now 4-3 this season posting both of Georgetown?s BIG EAST wins.


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Wednesday, May 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Coppin State 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, May 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Creighton 7:30 PM
Saturday, May 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Creighton 8:00 PM
Sunday, May 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Creighton 1:00 PM
Tuesday, May 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at UMBC 6:00 PM
Friday, May 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Villanova 7:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, May 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Villanova 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, May 15
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Villanova 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Thursday, May 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs TBD TBA
Friday, May 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs TBD TBA
Saturday, May 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs TBD TBA
Sunday, May 29
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs TBD TBA
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live