Georgetown Baseball Falls to Coppin State

GUHOYAS.COM
GUHOYAS.COM

GUHOYAS.COM

4/7/2004

Box Score

HANOVER, Md.  - The Georgetown baseball team fell to the Coppin State College Eagles, 12-0, on the road Wednesday afternoon in a non-conference game.

With the win, Coppin State (10-22) ended a nine-game losing streak, and recorded the school?s first non-conference shutout victory against a Division I opponent. Georgetown, meanwhile, fell to 18-17 on the year.

Coppin State?s Teon Richburg drove in a game-high four runs on two home runs and Bryan Crossley tallied a season-high seven strikeouts on the mound for the Eagles.

Richburg set the tone early when he delivered with a two-out three-run home run to right-center field in the first inning to put the Eagles up 3-0. He would later add a solo shot, his third home run of the season, down the left field line in the fourth inning to give Coppin State a 10-run advantage.

Twice, Georgetown threatened with runners on first and third, but Crossley struck out the final Georgetown batters in each the second and sixth innings to preserve the shutout.

Crossley surrendered three hits and two walks in seven innings of work to improve to 2-4. Travis Danysh (San Antonio, Texas/ Alamo Heights) received the loss for Georgetown and fell to 3-3 on the season. He allowed seven runs on seven hits, with two strikeouts.

Georgetown returns to action on April 8 with a home doubleheader against Virginia Tech. The first pitch is scheduled for noon at Shirley Povich Field.

 

 


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Wednesday, Mar 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at George Washington L, 5-1 GameTracker
Saturday, Mar 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Illinois State 10:30 AM GameTracker
Sunday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Northwestern 10:00 AM GameTracker
Baseball vs Northwestern 1:00 PM GameTracker
Monday, Mar 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Western Michigan 5:00 PM GameTracker
Wednesday, Mar 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Lehigh 3:00 PM GameTracker
Friday, Mar 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Western Michigan 5:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Mar 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Lehigh 11:00 AM GameTracker
Wednesday, Mar 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Navy 3:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Mar 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Brown 12:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Baseball Brown 3:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Mar 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Brown 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Tuesday, Mar 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Virginia 4:00 PM GameTracker
Wednesday, Mar 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Maryland Eastern Shore 3:00 PM
Friday, Mar 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Lipscomb 7:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Lipscomb 3:00 PM
Sunday, Mar 29
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Lipscomb 2:00 PM
Tuesday, Mar 31
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at George Mason 3:00 PM
Thursday, Apr 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Creighton 3:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Apr 3
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Creighton 4:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas