Georgetown Baseball Cools Against Catholic

GUHOYAS.COM
GUHOYAS.COM

GUHOYAS.COM

4/17/2003

Box Score

BETHESDA, Md. ? As temperatures plummeted Thursday night, so too did Georgetown baseball?s (9-24) fortunes as the Hoyas were outdueled by Catholic University (20-12) 17-11 on Shirley Povich Field. 

Sophomore Billy Quinn (Alta Loma, Calif./Alta Loma) knocked in five RBI for the second game in a row, going 4-for-5 on the night to power much of the Georgetown offense.  Danny Gronski (Sammamish, Wash./Skyline) crossed the plate four times, giving him seven runs in two games as he hit 4-for-5 against Catholic with an RBI and a walk.   

Catholic led off with a run in the top of the first but Gronski and Andrew Cleary (Weston, Mass./Belmont Hill School) reached safely in the GU first, earning a trip home after Quinn?s deep single to center making it 2-1 Hoyas.  Starter Thomas Braun (Kingwood, Texas/Kingwood) ceding a pair of runs in the second (one earned) to led the lead slip, but Georgetown would rebound with six hits in a row and three runs, including Quinn?s third RBI of the night, putting the Hoyas back on top 5-3.

Michael Lombardi (Brookhaven Hamlet, N.Y./St. Anthony?s) and Quinn drove in Timmy Jones (Ledgewood, N.J./Morristown) and Gronski respectively in the fourth to make it 7-5 Georgetown, but it would be the Hoyas? last lead of the game.

Catholic stormed back with three in the fifth and GU countered with a run to tie the score at 8-8, but two Catholic runs in the seventh and five backbreaking scores in the eighth made the task too monumental.

Pitcher Scooter Bernoskie (Holmdel, N.J./Holmdel) (0-1) allowed his first collegiate earned runs in relief after four previously flawless appearances, taking the loss.

Georgetown hosts Pittsburgh on Saturday, April 19 and Sunday, April 20 in a BIG EAST weekend series.  Saturday?s action will be a noon doubleheader followed by the third and final game, also at noon,


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Sunday, Mar 29
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Lipscomb L, 4-1 Lipscomb Stats
Tuesday, Mar 31
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at George Mason 3:00 PM
Thursday, Apr 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Creighton 3:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Apr 3
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Creighton 4:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Saturday, Apr 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Creighton 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Tuesday, Apr 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Coppin State 3:00 PM
Friday, Apr 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Villanova 3:15 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Apr 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Villanova 1:15 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Apr 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Villanova 1:15 PM GameTracker
Tuesday, Apr 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball George Mason 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Saturday, Apr 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Stony Brook 12:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Baseball Stony Brook 3:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Apr 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Stony Brook 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Tuesday, Apr 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Coppin State 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Wednesday, Apr 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball UMES (7 innings) 5:00 PM
Baseball UMES (7 innings) 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Apr 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Xavier 3:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Apr 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Xavier 1:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Apr 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Xavier 12:00 PM GameTracker
Wednesday, Apr 29
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Navy 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas