Ryan Busch Named to Capital One Academic All-District First Team

GUHOYAS.COM Ryan Busch
GUHOYAS.COM
Ryan Busch
GUHOYAS.COM

June 12, 2014

WASHINGTON – Junior shortstop Ryan Busch (Falcon Heights, Minn./Roseville Area) of the Georgetown University baseball team has been selected to the Capital One Academic All-District First Team by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

An art major, Busch is a two-time BIG EAST Academic All-Star. In order to be eligible for the Academic All-District teams, a student-athlete must maintain a 3.30 cumulative grade-point average and be a starter or key reserve on their team while having at least sophomore standing academically.

Busch started 41 games at shortstop in 2014, finishing third on the Hoyas with a .317 batting average. He led the team, and ranked third in the BIG EAST with 13 stolen bases. Batting primarily out of the leadoff position, Busch finished second on Georgetown with a .400 on-base percentage and tied for the team lead with 13 doubles. He also scored 39 runs in 41 games, which led the conference with a .95 runs per game average. The junior was named to the BIG EAST Weekly Honor roll on April 7 after batting .500 (9-for-18) with a .550 on-base percentage in four games. He totaled six runs scored, five RBI, three doubles and three stolen bases while raising his season batting average 40 points to .327 and his slugging percentage 55 points to .418.

The Blue & Gray finished the 2014 season with a 19-29 overall record and a 5-13 mark in the BIG EAST, including winning four of its final six conference games.


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Friday, Feb 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Wake Forest 6:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Feb 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs VMI 12:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Feb 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs UMBC 10:00 AM
Friday, Feb 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 6:00 PM
Saturday, Feb 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 2:00 PM
Sunday, Feb 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 1:00 PM
Wednesday, Mar 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball UMBC 2:30 PM Watch
Friday, Mar 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Florida Atlantic 6:30 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Mar 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Florida Atlantic 4:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Mar 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Florida Atlantic 12:00 PM GameTracker
Tuesday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs TBD 2:30 PM
Wednesday, Mar 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Western Michigan 11:00 AM
Friday, Mar 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Penn 3:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Penn 3:00 PM
Sunday, Mar 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Penn 11:00 AM
Tuesday, Mar 15
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Yale 3:00 PM Watch
Thursday, Mar 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Princeton 3:00 PM Watch
Friday, Mar 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Princeton 3:00 PM Watch
Saturday, Mar 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Princeton 1:00 PM Watch
Sunday, Mar 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Princeton 1:00 PM Watch
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live