Georgetown Baseball, Women's Rowing and Men's Swimming and Diving Earn BIG EAST Team Academic Excellence Awards

GUHOYAS.COM Georgetown baseball was one of three GU teams to receive a BIG EAST 2007-08 Team Academic Excellence Award.
GUHOYAS.COM
Georgetown baseball was one of three GU teams to receive a BIG EAST 2007-08 Team Academic Excellence Award.
GUHOYAS.COM

July 21, 2008

Washington, D.C. - The BIG EAST Conference has announced that Georgetown baseball, women's rowing and men's swimming and diving are three of 23 teams that have been recognized with 2007-08 Team Academic Excellence Awards. These awards recognize the highest collective grade-point averages in each conference sport.

"It is good to see that all the hard work and effort put forth by our players in the classroom has been recognized at this level," said GU baseball Head Coach Pete Wilk. "Academics are priority number one and I am proud of our student-athletes for reaching this level of excellence."

Eight BIG EAST schools had at least one team honored, while Notre Dame had a conference-best six teams recognized. Cincinnati had five teams honored, while DePaul had four, Seton Hall had three, Syracuse had two, and Louisville and Rutgers had one each.

The winning teams included Notre Dame's men's tennis, women's tennis and men's outdoor track and field teams - all of which captured BIG EAST championships in 2007-08. Louisville's field hockey team, which won a share of the 2007 regular-season title, and DePaul's men's soccer team, which was the winner of the BIG EAST Red Division in the regular season, also were among the honored teams.

The winners were chosen based on the 2007-08 grade-point average of each student-athlete that appears on an institution's squad list in a particular sport.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Friday, Feb 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs VCU 10:00 AM GameTracker
Saturday, Feb 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Bucknell 2:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Feb 15
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Delaware 10:00 AM GameTracker
Wednesday, Feb 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at George Washington 2:30 PM GameTracker
Friday, Feb 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Fairfield 3:00 PM
Saturday, Feb 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Fairfield 1:00 PM
Sunday, Feb 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Fairfield 1:00 PM
Friday, Feb 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 6:00 PM
Saturday, Feb 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 2:00 PM
Sunday, Mar 1
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 1:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Illinois State 10:30 AM
Sunday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Northwestern 10:00 AM
Baseball vs Northwestern 1:00 PM
Monday, Mar 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Western Michigan 5:00 PM
Wednesday, Mar 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Lehigh 3:00 PM
Friday, Mar 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Western Michigan 5:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Lehigh 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Mar 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Navy 3:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Brown 12:00 PM
Baseball Brown 3:00 PM
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas