Baseball's Matt Hollenbeck Selected as Top Prospect in Summer League

GUHOYAS.COM Sophomore Matt Hollenbeck was selected as one of the top prospects in the Atlantic League.
GUHOYAS.COM
Sophomore Matt Hollenbeck was selected as one of the top prospects in the Atlantic League.
GUHOYAS.COM

WASHINGTON\ - Georgetown University sophomore baseball player Matt Hollenbeck (Horsham, Pa./Hatboro-Horsham) was selected as one of the top prospects in the Atlantic Summer Collegiate Baseball League by Perfect Game.

Hollenbeck played this summer for the Quakertown (Pa.) Blazers of the Atlantic League, a 17-team league composed mainly of teams in New York, New Jersey and Pennsylvania.

A 6-1, 200-pound sophomore, the left-hander posted a 1-0 record with a 5.51 earned run average during the summer. He made nine appearances, four starts, and struck out 33 batters in 32.2 innings. He was rated the 12th best prospect in the league.

During the 2012 regular season at Georgetown, Hollenbeck finished with an 0-3 record, but carried a 4.26 ERA in 16 appearances, throwing 19 innings and striking out 12 batters.

Hollenbeck's selection caps off a terrific summer for the Hoyas, as senior center field Justin Leeson (Exton, Pa./West Chester) had a tremendous season with the Bourne Braves in the Cape Cod League and junior first baseman Steve Anderson (Albany, N.Y./Guilderland) played for the top-rated summer team in the nation, the Newport (R.I.) Gulls of the New England Collegiate League.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Friday, Feb 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs VCU 10:00 AM GameTracker
Saturday, Feb 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Bucknell 2:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Feb 15
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Delaware 10:00 AM GameTracker
Wednesday, Feb 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at George Washington 2:30 PM GameTracker
Friday, Feb 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Fairfield 3:00 PM
Saturday, Feb 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Fairfield 1:00 PM
Sunday, Feb 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Fairfield 1:00 PM
Friday, Feb 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 6:00 PM
Saturday, Feb 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 2:00 PM
Sunday, Mar 1
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Davidson 1:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Illinois State 10:30 AM
Sunday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Northwestern 10:00 AM
Baseball vs Northwestern 1:00 PM
Monday, Mar 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Western Michigan 5:00 PM
Wednesday, Mar 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Lehigh 3:00 PM
Friday, Mar 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Western Michigan 5:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball vs Lehigh 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Mar 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball at Navy 3:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Baseball Brown 12:00 PM
Baseball Brown 3:00 PM
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas