Georgetown Men's Basketball Announces 2011-12 Schedule

GUHOYAS.COM
Georgetown will play 16 games at home in 2011-12 and at least 16 games against teams that played in the postseason last year.

GUHOYAS.COM
Georgetown will play 16 games at home in 2011-12 and at least 16 games against teams that played in the postseason last year.
GUHOYAS.COM

Aug. 31, 2011

2011-12 Schedule Get Acrobat Reader

WASHINGTON -

Featuring 16 home games, at least 16 contests against teams that played in the postseason last year, and a trip the Maui Invitational, the 2011-12 Georgetown University men's basketball schedule was released on Wednesday afternoon. Highlights of the schedule include a trip to Hawaii for the Maui Invitational, where the Hoyas will play 2011 NCAA Tournament participant Kansas in the first round, as well as BIG EAST Conference games at home against defending national champion Connecticut, Villanova and Notre Dame and a non-league matchup with Memphis.

Georgetown finished the 2010-11 season with a 21-11 record and advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the fifth time in seven years under Head Coach John Thompson III. The Hoyas, who earned a first round bye in the BIG EAST Tournament with a 10-8 regular season record in league play, played against one of the highest-rated schedules in the nation last year and were among the top-20 teams in the RPI Ratings.

The Hoyas open the season with a pair of home games, first against Savannah State on Saturday, Nov. 12, and then against UNC Greensboro on Monday, Nov. 14.

Georgetown will make its second trip this year to the Pacific when they participate in the Maui Invitational. The Hoyas, who played four exhibition games during an 11-day historic trip to China in August, will open up play in the Maui Invitational against Kansas (35-3, NCAA) on Monday, Nov. 21 (11:50 p.m. ET). The Hoyas will play two more games in Hawaii and will face either host Chaminade (20-9) or UCLA (23-11, NCAA) in the second round. Other teams in the field include Duke (32-5, NCAA), Memphis (25-10, NCAA), Michigan (21-14, NCAA) and Tennessee (19-15, NCAA).

Five of the next six games are at home for the Hoyas, with the one road game a matchup at Alabama (25-12, NIT) on Thursday, Dec. 1 at 9:30 p.m., as part of the BIG EAST/SEC Challenge. Georgetown will also host IUPUI on Monday, Nov. 28 at Verizon Center.

Following that game, the Blue & Gray return home for four games, starting with NJIT on Saturday, Dec. 3. Georgetown will host Howard on Saturday, Dec. 10 and American on Saturday, Dec. 17. The team's final non-league game will be against Memphis on Thursday, Dec. 22 at 7 p.m.

BIG EAST Conference play begins on Wednesday, Dec. 28 with a visit to Louisville (25-10, NCAA).

The Hoyas return to the District for their league home opener on Saturday, Dec. 31, hosting Providence at Verizon Center. That is the first of two BIG EAST games at home, with Marquette (22-15, NCAA) visiting Verizon Center on Wednesday, Jan. 4. Following a road game at West Virginia (21-12, NCAA) on Saturday, Jan. 7, the Hoyas will host Cincinnati (26-9, NCAA) on Monday, Jan. 9.

The final four games of January will have Georgetown on the road for three games, starting with a visit to Madison Square Garden and St. John's (21-12, NCAA) on Sunday, Jan. 15. The Hoyas play at DePaul on Tuesday, Jan. 17 before returning to Verizon Center to host Rutgers on Saturday, Jan. 21. The month closes out with a visit to Pittsburgh (28-6, NCAA) on Saturday, Jan. 28.

The month of February starts with a pair of home games, first against defending national champion Connecticut (32-9) on Wednesday, Feb. 1 and then against USF on Saturday, Feb. 4.

After a visit to play Syracuse (27-8, NCAA) on Wednesday, Feb. 8, the team returns home to play St. John's on Sunday, Feb. 12. Two more road dates - at Providence on Saturday, Feb. 18 and at Seton Hall on Tuesday, Feb. 21 - dot the schedule before the team closes out the month with two games at Verizon Center. Georgetown hosts Villanova (21-12, NCAA) on Saturday, Feb. 25 and then hosts Notre Dame (27-7, NCAA) on Monday, Feb. 27. Georgetown closes out the regular season on Saturday, March 3, visiting Marquette.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
There are no upcoming events.
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas