Georgetown Men's Basketball Announces 2012-13 Schedule

GUHOYAS.COM
Georgetown will play 17 home games and at least 15 games against teams played in the postseason last year.

GUHOYAS.COM
Georgetown will play 17 home games and at least 15 games against teams played in the postseason last year.
GUHOYAS.COM
Sept. 5, 2012

2012-13 Schedule

WASHINGTON - Featuring 17 home games, at least 15 contests against teams that played in the postseason last year, including the season opener aboard the USS Bataan Aircraft Carrier, the Georgetown University men's basketball schedule was released on Wednesday afternoon.

Highlights of the schedule include the season opener against Florida in Jacksonville, Fla., as well as appearances in the Legends Classic in Brooklyn, N.Y., and the Jimmy V Classic at Madison Square Garden and a regular season finale matchup against long-time BIG EAST Conference rival Syracuse, which will be featured on ESPN Gameday.

The Hoyas open the season on Friday, Nov. 9, playing Florida in the Navy-Marine Corps Classic aboard the USS Bataan in Jacksonville, Fla.

Following that game, Georgetown returns home for a pair of regional round games in the Legends Classic. The home opener will be on Sunday, Nov. 11 against Duquesne at 6:30 p.m. GU will then host Liberty on Wednesday, Nov. 14. Georgetown plays UCLA in one of two semifinal games of the Legends Classic on Monday, Nov. 19 at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, N.Y. The game between the Hoyas and the Bruins will air live on ESPN2 at 8 p.m. GU will play either Indiana or Georgia on Tuesday, Nov. 20.

The Hoyas return home for a pair of games, first hosting Mount St. Mary's on Saturday, Nov. 24. Less than a week later, Georgetown hosts Tennessee as part of the BIG EAST/SEC Challenge on Friday, Nov. 30. That game, which will air on ESPN, is slated to tip off at 6:30 p.m. The Blue & Gray will then travel to New York City for a matchup with Texas in the Jimmy V Classic on Tuesday, Dec. 4. The game will air on ESPN at 7 p.m.

Four-consecutive games at Verizon Center round out the non-conference schedule, starting with a matchup against Towson on Saturday, Dec. 8. The homestand continues on Monday, Dec. 10 against Longwood, followed by a game against Western Carolina on Saturday, Dec. 15 and closes with American on Saturday, Dec. 22.

Georgetown opens conference play on Saturday, Jan. 5 at Marquette. The team's BIG EAST home opener will be on Tuesday, Jan. 8 at 9 p.m. against Pittsburgh on ESPNU.

Three of the next four games are on the road, starting with a match up at St. John's on ESPN on Saturday, Jan. 12 (11 a.m.). The team returns home for a game against Providence on Wednesday, Jan. 16 and then plays a pair of road games, first at USF on Saturday, Jan. 19 and then on Monday, Jan. 21 at Notre Dame on ESPN (7:30 p.m.)

The Hoyas have a three-game homestand starting with a matchup against Louisville on Saturday, Jan. 26 on ESPN (noon). GU then hosts Seton Hall on Wednesday, Jan. 30 and closes out the homestand on Saturday, Feb. 2 against St. John's, a game to air live on CBS at 4 p.m. GU visits Rutgers on Saturday, Feb. 9 and returns home to host Marquette on Monday, Feb. 11, a game that will air on ESPN at 7 p.m.

The team will be on the road again for three of the next four games, starting on Friday, Feb. 15 at Cincinnati, which will air on ESPN at 9 p.m. The team returns home to play DePaul on Wednesday, Feb. 20 before hitting the road for two games. Georgetown plays at Syracuse on Saturday, Feb. 23 on CBS (4 p.m.) and is at Connecticut on Wednesday, Feb. 27 on ESPN2 (7 p.m.)

The Blue & Gray will host Rutgers on Saturday, March 2 on ESPNU (9 p.m.) before playing at Villanova on Wednesday, March 6 on ESPN/2 (7 p.m.). The regular season comes to a close on Saturday, March 9, when the ESPN Gameday crew makes its first visit to a Hoya game as Georgetown plays Syracuse on ESPN at noon.

Georgetown finished the 2011-12 season with a 24-9 overall record and advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the sixth time in eight years under Head Coach John Thompson III. The Hoyas, who were picked to finish 10th in the BIG EAST, posted a 12-6 record in league play and were among the top five teams in the league.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Saturday, Dec 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball Charlotte W, 81-78 Fox Sports Network GameTracker Listen
Saturday, Dec 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball vs Indiana 12:00 PM ESPN2 Listen
Wednesday, Dec 31
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball at Xavier 10:00 PM Fox Sports 1 GameTracker Listen
Saturday, Jan 3
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball Creighton 4:30 PM Fox Sports 1 GameTracker Listen
Tuesday, Jan 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball Marquette 7:00 PM Fox Sports 1 GameTracker Listen
Saturday, Jan 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball at Providence 12:00 PM Fox Sports 1 GameTracker Listen
Tuesday, Jan 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball at DePaul 9:00 PM Fox Sports 1 GameTracker Listen
Saturday, Jan 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball Butler 5:00 PM Fox Sports 1 GameTracker Listen
Monday, Jan 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball Villanova 9:00 PM Fox Sports 1 GameTracker Listen
Saturday, Jan 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball at Marquette 2:30 PM Fox Sports 1 Listen
Tuesday, Jan 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball Xavier 7:00 PM Fox Sports 1 GameTracker Listen
Saturday, Jan 31
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball at Creighton 2:00 PM CBS Sports Network Listen
Wednesday, Feb 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball Providence 9:00 PM CBS Sports Network GameTracker Listen
Saturday, Feb 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball at Villanova 2:00 PM FOX Listen
Tuesday, Feb 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball at Seton Hall 7:00 PM Fox Sports 1 Listen
Tuesday, Feb 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball St. John's 7:00 PM Fox Sports 1 GameTracker Listen
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas