Georgetown Junior Nikita Mescheriakov to Transfer

GUHOYAS.COM Nikita Mescheriakov
GUHOYAS.COM
Nikita Mescheriakov
GUHOYAS.COM

Dec. 22, 2009

WASHINGTON - Georgetown University Head Men's Basketball Coach John Thompson III announced on Tuesday morning that junior Nikita Mescheriakov (Minsk, Belarus/St. John's Prospect Hall [Md.]) will transfer to another institution at the conclusion of the semester.

"Nikita expressed the interest to transfer to a school where he knows he will get more playing time than he feels he will get here," Thompson said. "We wish him the best in his future endeavors and appreciate his hard work."

Mescheriakov appeared in seven games this season, averaging 0.9 points and 0.3 rebounds.

A 6-7 forward, Mescheriakov appeared in 23 games during the 2008-09 season, starting the final nine games. He averaged 2.7 points and 1.5 rebounds per game, scoring a career-high 11 points in a win at Villanova.

In 30 career games, he averaged 2.3 points and 1.2 rebounds, connecting on 33.3 percent of his shots.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Saturday, Dec 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball Charlotte 12:00 PM Fox Sports Network GameTracker Listen
Saturday, Dec 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball vs Indiana 12:00 PM ESPN2 Listen
Wednesday, Dec 31
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball at Xavier 10:00 PM Fox Sports 1 GameTracker Listen
Saturday, Jan 3
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball Creighton 4:30 PM Fox Sports 1 GameTracker Listen
Tuesday, Jan 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball Marquette 7:00 PM Fox Sports 1 GameTracker Listen
Saturday, Jan 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball at Providence 12:00 PM Fox Sports 1 GameTracker Listen
Tuesday, Jan 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball at DePaul 9:00 PM Fox Sports 1 GameTracker Listen
Saturday, Jan 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball Butler 5:00 PM Fox Sports 1 GameTracker Listen
Monday, Jan 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball Villanova 9:00 PM Fox Sports 1 GameTracker Listen
Saturday, Jan 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball at Marquette 2:30 PM Fox Sports 1 Listen
Tuesday, Jan 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball Xavier 7:00 PM Fox Sports 1 GameTracker Listen
Saturday, Jan 31
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball at Creighton 2:00 PM CBS Sports Network Listen
Wednesday, Feb 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball Providence 9:00 PM CBS Sports Network GameTracker Listen
Saturday, Feb 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball at Villanova 2:00 PM FOX Listen
Tuesday, Feb 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Basketball at Seton Hall 7:00 PM Fox Sports 1 Listen
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas