Georgetown Football Announces Captains and Award Winners at Spring Banquet

April 18, 2011

WASHINGTON - WASHINGTON - The Georgetown University football team held its annual team awards banquet on Saturday afternoon, as a way to honor its 15 graduating seniors, celebrate its accomplishments during the 2010 season and look toward the future, as rising senior strong safety Wayne Heimuli (Euless, Texas/Trinity) will become the eighth player to earn the Joe Eacobacci Memorial No. 35 jersey. Heimuli and rising senior SLOT Jeremiah Kayal (Wayne, N.J./Wayne Hills) were also selected captains for the 2011 season 2011 captains.

Heimuli (Euless, Texas/Trinity) became the eighth player to wear the prestigious No. 35 jersey in memory of former Hoya standout Joe Eacobacci. Heimuli has been a starter in each of his three seasons on the Hilltop in the defensive backfield.

"It's a great honor to follow in the footsteps of such great guys, especially Nick Parrish, who I've gotten to know over the years and someone who has been a great leader and a great role model," Heimuli said. "I'm just hoping I can step in and fill those shoes. I've had a chance to talk with Nick Umar, Nick Parrish and I've also talked to Steve Smith and they all resemble each other in that they are great guys, great leaders, who embody what the No. 35 stands for."

Heimuli and Kayal will be tasked with leading the 2011 Hoyas as captains, positions that are selected carefully by the players and coaches.

"It's an honor to receive this from the team," Kayal said on being named a captain. "I'm just very grateful and very excited to get the season going, it starts now."

Head Coach Kevin Kelly and the coaching staff presented a series of team awards on Saturday. Junior defensive end Andrew Schaetzke (Toledo, Ohio/St. John's Jesuit) was selected as the winner of the Al Blozis Award for the team's most valuable player. Schaetzke was named First Team All Patriot League, as well as being twice selected Patriot League Defensive Player of the Week. He was also named the NCAA DI FCS National Player of the Week after the Hoyas win at Lafayette.



Senior linebacker and two-time captain Nick Parrish, the program's all-time leading tackler, earned the Strength & Conditioning Award for his work in the weight room.

Senior linebacker Paul Sant'Ambrogio earned the teams Special Teams Player of the Year award. Sant'Ambrogio a key player on special teams recorded 143 tackles over his career, including 43.5 during his senior season.

Sophomore cornerback Jeremy Moore (New Haven, Conn./James Hillhouse) earned the John L. Hagerty Award for best back. Moore broke up 11 passes, intercepting one to finish among the Patriot League leaders in passes defended. He also had 10 tackles for loss, the second most on the team.

Senior offensive lineman Rob Bates (Malvern, Pa./Malvern Prep) earned the George A. Murtaugh Award for the team's top lineman. Bates started all season at right tackle, showing versatility through his career playing in several spots along the offensive line.

Senior running back Philip Oladeji (Plano, Texas/East Plano) was selected as the Mush Dubofsky Award as the team's top student-athlete. Oladeji, a member of the Patriot League All Academic team has been an important part of the School of Nursing and Health Studies Minority Health Initiative, as one its co-founders.

Senior linebacker Patrick O'Donnell (Media, Pa./Penncrest) and senior offensive lineman Erik Antico (Rye, N.Y./Rye) were co-recipients of the John D. Burke Courage and Spirit Award. Senior defensive back Frank DiTommaso (Short Hills, N.J./Seton Hall Prep) and senior running back Geoffrey Schnorr (Wappinger Falls, N.Y./Roy C. Ketcham) earned the Jeremiah Minihan Coaches' Award.

The Hoyas' coaches also handed out the Robert Paul Dahut Award for most improved player to freshman defensive back Malcolm Caldwell Meeks (Los Angeles, Calif./Harvard-Westlake) on defense and junior tight end Tucker Stafford (Riverside, Conn./Greenwich), who made the switch from quarterback early in the 2010 season.

The Hoyas open its season on Saturday, September 3 when they host Davidson College on Multi-Sport Field at 6 p.m.

More Headlines
McLaughlin, Williamson Named to Academic All-Patriot... The Georgetown University football team had two student-athletes named to the... Five Hoyas Earn All-Patriot League Honors The Georgetown University football team had five student-athletes earn nods... Khristian Tate Earns Third Patriot League Honorable... Georgetown University sophomore defensive lineman Khristian Tate has been... Georgetown Football Falls to Colgate on Senior Day The Georgetown University football team closed out the 2017 season on...
Shop Now


widget powered by zoomph


There are no upcoming events within the next week.