Georgetown Football Names Captains and Joe Eacobacci No. 35 Jersey Recipient at Annual Spring Banquet

Isaiah Kempf scrambles during the Blue & Gray Spring Game.

April 23, 2012

Photo Gallery

WASHINGTON - Linebacker Robert McCabe (Newtown Square, Pa./Malvern Prep) and quarterback Isaiah Kempf (Glendale, Calif./Bridgton Academy), both rising seniors, were named team captains for the 2012 season and rising senior offensive lineman Kevin Sullivan(Maywood, N.J./Bergen Catholic) was the ninth recipient of the prestigious Joe Eacobacci Memorial No. 35 Jersey during the Georgetown football team's annual banquet on Saturday afternoon.

McCabe moved to inside linebacker during the 2011 season and responded by leading the Patriot League and breaking the Hoyas single-season tackles record, with 134 stops, to earn a spot on the Patriot League's First Team. Kempf started nine games at quarterback last season, leading the Hoyas to its best season since joining the Patriot League in 2001. Kempf has split time as a starter since his freshman season, playing in 24 games during his career on the Hilltop, completing 324-of-616 passes for 3,247 yards and 15 touchdown passes.

"It's a huge honor being named captain for next year," Kempf said. "Jeremiah (Kayal) and Wayne (Heimuli) have set the standard high and Rob and I plan on giving everything we have to this team. Our job is a little easier because we have so many leaders on this team at each position, which makes communication much easier. Expectations here at an all-time high and our class, have come full circle, putting ourselves in place to compete for a Patriot League title next year. We have all of the pieces to make a run at this thing and are excited to put Georgetown football on the map while making history."

"It's a huge honor being named captain and its special to me because it was voted on by my teammates," McCabe said. "We have a great bunch of guys on our team that are hard working and self-motivated which will make mine and Isaiah's job easy. Were all extremely excited about the upcoming season, we had a great offseason, so far with the strength and conditioning program and spring practice, we return alot of players and alot of talent on both offense and defense, and added some great coaches to the mix. We have high expectations for this season with our ultimate goal of getting a Patriot League championship ring."

Sullivan, who has started 18 games on the offensive line during the past two seasons and been one of the program's top performers in the weight room, becomes the ninth player and second offensive player in 10 years to wear the Joe Eacobacci No. 35 Memorial Jersey, one of the program's highest honors. Sullivan was presented with the honor by Assistant Head Coach Rob Sgarlata, as well as previous No. 35 recipients Wayne Heimuli and Nick Parrish.

"I’m honored to receive the Joe Eacobacci Memorial Number 35 Jersey," Sullivan said. "I am inspired by Joe and the players who have worn his number 35 jersey in the past and proudly represented him and the Georgetown Football family. Building off of last season and a productive spring ball, the team is excited to work toward bringing the first Patriot League Championship to Georgetown."

The Georgetown coaching staff awarded tight end Daniel Sprotte on the offense and Javan Robinsonon defense with the Robert Paul Dahut Most Improved Player Award. Sprotte, a rising junior and Robinson, a rising sophomore both played with the first team at their respective positions during the Blue & Gray Spring Game.

Senior defensive end Andrew Schaetzkewas a multiple winner during Saturday's banquet, earning the Al Blozis Award for the team's most valuable player, after becoming the ninth player in Patriot League history to be named a consensus All American. Schaetzke, who is second in GU history in sacks, also earned the George A. Murtaigh Award as the team's best lineman and was named the defense's most productive player.

Senior placekicker Brett Weiss, a three-time PL Special Teams Player of the Week, was named the Special Teams Player of the Year, after making a Hoyas record 16 field goals during the 2011 season. Senior cornerback Jayah Kaisambaearned the John L. Hagerty Award for best back, after earning second team All Patriot League honors for the 2011 season.

Senior captain Nathan Zimmelearned the team's Strength and Conditioning Award for his hard work and impressive numbers in the weight room. Offensive lineman Ed Hesselgren, a four-time Patriot League Academic Honor Roll selection earned the Mush Dubofsky Award for the team's top student-athlete.

Heimuli and Dan Lenihan were named the John D. Burke Award winners for courage and spirit. Heimuli and Lenihan both overcame potentially career-ending injuries to play crucial roles for the Hoyas during the 2011 season. Quarterback Scott Darby and defensive back Timothy Bayerwere named the Jeremiah Minihan Coaches' Award winners for their leadership and selfless attitude during their careers on the Hilltop.

The banquet and spring game concluded the Hoyas 2012 spring season, as they will come back to campus in August to begin training camp for its season-opener on Saturday, September 1 at Davidson. The Blue & Gray will play six home games at Multi-Sport Field during the 2012 season, with its home-opener on Saturday, September 8 when they take on Wagner at 1 p.m.



More Headlines
Football Celebrates Spring Weekend The Georgetown University football team held its Annual Spring Football... Georgetown Football Spring Update -- Special Teams The Georgetown University football team will host its annual Blue & Gray... Football to Host Second Annual Be The Match Bone Marrow... For the second-consecutive year, the Georgetown University football team will... Football Announces 2018 Schedule Georgetown University Football Head Coach Rob Sgarlata has announced the...
Shop Now


widget powered by zoomph


There are no upcoming events within the next week.