Dustin Wharton Highlights Five Hoyas Selected to All Patriot League Team

Dustin Wharton is the fourth Hoya to earn All-Patriot League First Team twice.

Nov. 26, 2013

WASHINGTON - WASHINGTON - Georgetown football senior linebacker Dustin Wharton (LaVale, Md./Allegany) was named All-Patriot League First Team for the second consecutive season, while senior tight end Daniel Sprotte (Garden City, N.Y./Chaminade), junior linebacker Nick Alfieri (Portland, Ore./Jesuit/Hotchkiss School), junior defensive end Alec May (Wrenthem, Mass./King Phillip) and junior defensive tackle Jordan Richardson (Watkinsville, Ga./Athens Academy) were selected to the All-Patriot League Second Team when they were announced on Tuesday morning.

The All-Patriot League Team and major awards were voted on by the Patriot League Football head coaches, who could not vote for their own student-athletes or themselves. This is the fourth consecutive season GU has had four or more student-athletes selected to the first and second teams.

"All five of these young men are well-deserving of the recognition," Head Coach Kevin Kelly said. "They have all been leaders in our program. Dustin Wharton and Dan Sprotte each had a terrific year and have represented our program well. We're excited that underclassmen like Nick, Alec and Jordan will be back to form the foundation of next year's defense."

Wharton, the preseason Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year, made an impact for the Hoyas defense, despite missing the greater part of September due to injury. Wharton opened the season with interceptions in the first two games, including a 24-yard interception return for a touchdown against Davidson. He finished with 66 tackles, 5.5 tackles for loss, 2.5 sacks, two interceptions, five quarterback hurries and a blocked kick. He is the fourth Hoya to earn first team honors twice, joining Michael Ononibaku, Andrew Schaetzke, Robert McCabe and Jeremy Moore. Wharton finishes third in GU history with 280 tackles, behind only Robert McCabe and Nick Parrish.



Sprotte earns a spot on the Patriot League second team after leading league tight ends in receptions per game (4.2) and yards per game (40.1). His 46 catches, 441 yards and four touchdowns are all career highs. Sprotte was named the College Football Performance Awards National Tight End of the Week after his 11 catch, 102 yard, two touchdown performance against Lafayette (Nov. 2).

Alfieri earns his first All-Patriot League team selection, finishing second in the league, averaging 10.2 tackles per game. He finished with 92 tackles, 7.5 tackles for loss, 1.5 sacks, two forced fumbles and an interception. It was Alfieri's second consecutive season with 90-or more tackles.

May makes the team after earning Patriot League weekly honorable mention in three of the last four weeks. He became the first Hoya to earn PL accolades for three consecutive games. May finished third in the league with 7.0 sacks. His 12.0 tackles for loss is tied for fifth in the league. May also had a career-high 68 tackles and four quarterback hurries.

Richardson earns his first postseason Patriot League honor, finishing with 52 tackles, 12.0 tackles for loss and 3.0 sacks. His 12.0 tackles for loss rank him tied for fifth in the league with teammate, May. Richardson recorded a safety and blocked two kicks this season for the Hoyas.

First-Team All-Patriot League
QB: Michael Nebrich, Fordham
RB: Carlton Koonce, Fordham; Keith Sherman, Lehigh
FB/HB: Ed Pavalko, Colgate
WR: Sam Ajala, Fordham; Lee Kurfis, Lehigh; Mark Ross, Lafayette
TE: Dan Light, Fordham
OL: Luke Chiarolanzio, Lafayette; Ned Daryoush, Lehigh; Tom Fisher, Fordham; Mason Halter, Fordham; Lonnie Rawles, Bucknell
PK: Michael Marando, Fordham
RS: Matt Smalley, Lafayette

DL: Brett Biestek, Fordham; Tim Newton, Lehigh; DeAndre Slate, Fordham; Tracey Smith, Bucknell
LB: Mike Boles, Lafayette; Evan Byers, Bucknell; Stephen Hodge, Fordham; Dustin Wharton, Georgetown
DB: Mike Armiento, Colgate; Matt Smalley, Lafayette; Ian Williams, Fordham; Tyler Ward, Lehigh
P: Tim Divers, Lehigh

Second-Team All-Patriot League
QB: Brandon Bialkowski, Lehigh
RB: Ross Scheuerman, Lafayette; CJ Williams, Bucknell
FB/HB: Greg Kessel, Lafayette
WR: Mike Fess, Holy Cross; Tebucky Jones, Fordham; Brian Wetzel, Fordham
TE: Daniel Sprotte, Georgetown
OL: Jordi Dalmau, Colgate; Julie'n Davenport, Bucknell; Matt Lippincott, Lehigh; Zack Mazur, Lafayette; Kyle Pedretty, Holy Cross
PK: Ryan Gralish, Lafayette
RS: Brian Wetzel, Fordham

DL: Demetrius Baldwin-Youngblood, Bucknell; Alec May, Georgetown; Steve Mercado, Lafayette; Jordan Richardson, Georgetown
LB: Nick Alfieri, Georgetown; Austin Hancock, Fordham; Kris Kent, Colgate; Nigel Muhammad, Lehigh
DB: Jordan Chapman, Fordham; Jared Roberts, Lafayette; Matthew Steinbeck, Bucknell; Levon Williams, Fordham

More Headlines
Football Celebrates Spring Weekend The Georgetown University football team held its Annual Spring Football... Georgetown Football Spring Update -- Special Teams The Georgetown University football team will host its annual Blue & Gray... Football to Host Second Annual Be The Match Bone Marrow... For the second-consecutive year, the Georgetown University football team will... Football Announces 2018 Schedule Georgetown University Football Head Coach Rob Sgarlata has announced the...
Shop Now


widget powered by zoomph


September 1
Poughkeepsie, N.Y.
September 8
Cooper Field
September 15
Hanover, N.H.