Andrew Schaetzke Named to AFCA 2011 FCS Coaches' All-America Team

Andrew Schaetzke becomes an All-America selection after leading the PL in sacks and tackles for loss.

Dec. 7, 2011

WASHINGTON - Senior defensive end Andrew Schaetzke (Toledo, Ohio/St. John's Jesuit) was named to the 2011 American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) FCS Coaches' All-America Team when the announcement was made on Wednesday morning by the association.

Schaetzke, previously named Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year, had a stellar senior season, leading the PL in tackles for loss (22.5) and sacks (13), finishing sixth and eighth in the nation in those categories, respectively. He also had 69 tackles, one interception, five pass breakups, three quarterback hurries and three fumbles forced during the season. Schaetzke was also added to the Buck Buchanan FCS Defensive Player of the Year watch list.

His 13 sacks in 2011 helped him climb the record books at Georgetown and also in the Patriot League. Schaetzke moved to second in Georgetown history in career sacks (30.5) and third in Patriot League history.

Schaetzke becomes the Georgetown football program's first All-America selection since Michael Ononibaku earned second team honors in 2005. The AFCA has selected an All-America team every year since 1945. What makes these teams so special is that they are the only ones chosen exclusively by the men who know the players the best -- the coaches themselves.

From 1965-81, a 22-player (11 offensive, 11 defensive) team was chosen. In 1982, a punter and placekicker were added to the team. In 1997, a return specialist was added, giving us the current 25-player team. The return specialist position was replaced by an all-purpose player in 2006.

The five teams now chosen for each AFCA division evolved from a single 11-player squad in 1945. From 1945 until 1967, only one team was chosen. From 1967 through 1971, two teams, University Division and College Division, were selected. In 1972, the College Division was split into College I and College II. In 1979, the University Division was split into two teams - Division I-A and Division I-AA. In 1996, the College I and College II teams were renamed Division II and Division III, respectively. In 2006, the Division I-A and Division I-AA teams were renamed Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) and Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), respectively. In 2006, the AFCA started selecting an NAIA-only team.



More Headlines
Khristian Tate Earns Third Patriot League Honorable... Georgetown University sophomore defensive lineman Khristian Tate has been... Georgetown Football Falls to Colgate on Senior Day The Georgetown University football team closed out the 2017 season on... Hoyas Host Colgate for Senior Day The Georgetown University football team will play its final contest of the... Jelani Williamson Earns CoSIDA Academic All-District Honors Georgetown University football senior defensive back Jelani Williamson was...
Shop Now


widget powered by zoomph


There are no upcoming events within the next week.