Hoyas Down Mountain Hawks, 4-2

GUHOYAS.COM Andrew Bruhn
GUHOYAS.COM
Andrew Bruhn
GUHOYAS.COM

March 5, 2012

Final Stats

WASHINGTON - The Georgetown University men's tennis team came away with a 4-2 decision against the Lehigh University Mountain Hawks on Saturday at Bellehaven Country Club in Alexandria, Va. Lehigh won the doubles point but four Hoya singles wins sent the Mountain Hawks (6-4) to their third-straight setback. The victory improved Georgetown to 7-3 on the season.

In doubles play, the lone win came as Georgetown topped the Mountain Hawks' No. 2 team as freshman Alex Tropiano (Laurel Hollow, N.Y./Cold Spring Harbor) and sophomore Andrew Dottino (New York, N.Y./The Pendleton School) won, 8-4.

In singles play, Georgetown picked up wins at No. 1 and No. 4 and then added wins at the bottom two singles flights after taking the first set in both via tiebreaks. No. 1 Andrew Bruhn (Storrs, Conn./E.O. Smith) defeated Mark Goldberg 6-3, 6-4 before Dottino took the No. 4 match 6-3, 6-4 over Matt Savran.

No. 5 sophomore Casey Distaso (The Woodlands, Texas/Edmond North) downed Andrew Krentz 7-6, 6-2 and freshman John Brosens (Bedford, N.Y./Brunswick School) battled for the clinching point at No. 6 beating DJ Goldblum in three sets 7-6, 3-6, 6-3.

The Hoyas will face Lynn University on Tuesday in Boca Raton, Fla., at 4:30 p.m.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Thursday, Mar 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Friday, Mar 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Saturday, Mar 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Sunday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC San Diego 9:00 AM
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Wednesday, Mar 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC Riverside 1:00 PM
Thursday, Mar 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC Irvine 12:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Penn 2:00 PM
Men's Tennis vs Claremont-Mudd-Scripps TBA
Thursday, Apr 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Morgan State TBA
Tuesday, Apr 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis Richmond TBA
Thursday, Apr 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UMBC 2:00 PM
Saturday, Apr 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Villanova 12:00 PM
Monday, Apr 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at George Mason 2:30 PM
Sunday, Apr 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs BIG EAST Championships All Day
Monday, Apr 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs BIG EAST Championships All Day
Tuesday, Apr 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs BIG EAST Championships All Day
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas