Hoyas Stay on Hot Streak and Win Eighth Straight

GUHOYAS.COM Freshman Kevin Katz won the clinching match at six singles against Fairfield.
GUHOYAS.COM
Freshman Kevin Katz won the clinching match at six singles against Fairfield.
GUHOYAS.COM

April 6, 2013

Complete Results

WASHINGTON - Georgetown University men's tennis team (10-8) won its eighth consecutive match earlier today, defeating Fairfield, 6-1, at the McDonough Outdoor Tennis Complex. The Hoyas have not lost a home men's tennis match yet this season, amassing an 8-0 mark in D.C.

After a huge conference win over St. John's on Friday the Hoyas came out Saturday and swept the doubles competition. Sophomore Daniel Khanin (Baldwin, N.Y./Pendleton) and Reese Milner (Los Angeles, Calif./Crossroads) started the sweep with an 8-1 win at third doubles. Casey Distaso (The Woodlands, Texas/Edmond North) and Charlie Caris (Des Moines, Iowa/Theodore Roosevelt) followed with a 8-4 win at one and Alex Tropiano (Laurel Hollow, N.Y./Cold Spring Harbor) and Shane Korber (Newport Beach, Calif./Corona Del Mar) completed it with an 8-5 win at two doubles.

In the singles matches Caris rolled at two, 6-3, 6-1 and Khanin rebounded from a Friday loss to win 6-2, 7-5 at number one.

The clinching match was recorded by Kevin Katz (Woodbury, N.Y./Syosset), who played in just his second dual match of the year, at six singles 6-2, 6-2.

Tropiano and Distaso recorded victories on courts five and four, respectively. Tropiano won 6-3, 6-1, and Distaso won 6-4, 6-4.

GU plays next on Sunday, April 7, against GWU. The match will be played at the McDonough Outdoor Tennis Complex and begins at 11 a.m.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Thursday, Mar 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Friday, Mar 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Saturday, Mar 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Sunday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC San Diego 9:00 AM
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Wednesday, Mar 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC Riverside 1:00 PM
Thursday, Mar 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC Irvine 12:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Penn 2:00 PM
Men's Tennis vs Claremont-Mudd-Scripps TBA
Thursday, Apr 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Morgan State TBA
Tuesday, Apr 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis Richmond TBA
Thursday, Apr 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UMBC 2:00 PM
Saturday, Apr 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Villanova 12:00 PM
Monday, Apr 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at George Mason 2:30 PM
Sunday, Apr 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs BIG EAST Championships All Day
Monday, Apr 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs BIG EAST Championships All Day
Tuesday, Apr 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs BIG EAST Championships All Day
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas