» «
Men's Tennis Defeats Connecticut, 6-0

GUHOYAS.COM
GUHOYAS.COM

GUHOYAS.COM

April 5, 2014

Complete Results

WASHINGTON – The Georgetown men’s tennis team (7-9, 0-1 BIG EAST) swept the Connecticut Huskies on Saturday afternoon, 6-0, in a non-conference match on Georgetown’s campus.

The two squads did not play doubles matches on the afternoon, only six singles matches.

Georgetown sophomore Daniel Khanin (Baldwin, N.Y./Pendleton) defeated Wayne Harell in a three-set match on Saturday from the No. 1 court, 6-7, 6-3, 6-1.

Junior Shane Korber (Newport Beach, Calif./Corona Del Mar) also won a long, three-set victory over UConn’s Jacob Spreyer, 6-4, 6-7, 6-3.

Georgetown junior Alex Tropiano (Laurel Hollow, N.Y./Cold Spring Harbor), freshman Jack Murphy (Coronado, Calif./La Jolla Country Day), senior co-captain Casey Distaso (The Woodlands, Texas/Edmond North) and junior John Brosens (Bedford, N.Y./Brunswick School) won the No. 3, 4, 5 and 6 singles matches for the Hoyas, all in straight sets, to help complete the sweep.

The men will play on Wed., April 9 against UMBC in Baltimore, Md. The non-conference matchup is set to begin at 2 p.m. ET.

 

Georgetown 6, Connecticut 0
#1 Singles: Daniel Khanin (GU) def. Wayne Harrell (UCONN); 6-7(6), 6-3, 6-1
#2 Singles: Shane Korber (GU) def. Jacob Spreyer (UCONN); 6-4, 6-7(7), 6-3
#3 Singles: Alex Tropiano (GU) def. Ryan Carr (UCONN); 7-6(4), 6-2
#4 Singles: Jack Murphy (GU) def. Chris Toner; 6-2, 6-1
#5 Singles: Casey Distaso (GU) def. Parker Goldstien (UCONN); 6-3, 6-3
#6 Singles: John Brosens (GU) def. Andrew Ginzberg (UCONN); 6-4, 6-2


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Friday, Sept 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UPenn Classic All Day
Saturday, Sept 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UPenn Classic All Day
Sunday, Sept 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UPenn Classic All Day
Wednesday, Sept 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UDC All Day
Friday, Sept 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Navy Invitational All Day
Saturday, Sept 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Navy Invitational All Day
Sunday, Sept 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Navy Invitational All Day
Friday, Oct 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Princeton Invite All Day
Saturday, Oct 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Princeton Invite All Day
Sunday, Oct 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Princeton Invite All Day
Thursday, Oct 15
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs ITA Regional All Day
Friday, Oct 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs ITA Regional All Day
Saturday, Oct 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs ITA Regional All Day
Sunday, Oct 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs ITA Regional All Day
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas