Men's Tennis Defeats Connecticut, 6-0

GUHOYAS.COM
GUHOYAS.COM

GUHOYAS.COM

April 5, 2014

Complete Results

WASHINGTON – The Georgetown men’s tennis team (7-9, 0-1 BIG EAST) swept the Connecticut Huskies on Saturday afternoon, 6-0, in a non-conference match on Georgetown’s campus.

The two squads did not play doubles matches on the afternoon, only six singles matches.

Georgetown sophomore Daniel Khanin (Baldwin, N.Y./Pendleton) defeated Wayne Harell in a three-set match on Saturday from the No. 1 court, 6-7, 6-3, 6-1.

Junior Shane Korber (Newport Beach, Calif./Corona Del Mar) also won a long, three-set victory over UConn’s Jacob Spreyer, 6-4, 6-7, 6-3.

Georgetown junior Alex Tropiano (Laurel Hollow, N.Y./Cold Spring Harbor), freshman Jack Murphy (Coronado, Calif./La Jolla Country Day), senior co-captain Casey Distaso (The Woodlands, Texas/Edmond North) and junior John Brosens (Bedford, N.Y./Brunswick School) won the No. 3, 4, 5 and 6 singles matches for the Hoyas, all in straight sets, to help complete the sweep.

The men will play on Wed., April 9 against UMBC in Baltimore, Md. The non-conference matchup is set to begin at 2 p.m. ET.

 

Georgetown 6, Connecticut 0
#1 Singles: Daniel Khanin (GU) def. Wayne Harrell (UCONN); 6-7(6), 6-3, 6-1
#2 Singles: Shane Korber (GU) def. Jacob Spreyer (UCONN); 6-4, 6-7(7), 6-3
#3 Singles: Alex Tropiano (GU) def. Ryan Carr (UCONN); 7-6(4), 6-2
#4 Singles: Jack Murphy (GU) def. Chris Toner; 6-2, 6-1
#5 Singles: Casey Distaso (GU) def. Parker Goldstien (UCONN); 6-3, 6-3
#6 Singles: John Brosens (GU) def. Andrew Ginzberg (UCONN); 6-4, 6-2


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Thursday, Mar 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Friday, Mar 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Saturday, Mar 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Sunday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC San Diego 9:00 AM
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Wednesday, Mar 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC Riverside 1:00 PM
Thursday, Mar 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC Irvine 12:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Penn 2:00 PM
Men's Tennis vs Claremont-Mudd-Scripps TBA
Thursday, Apr 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Morgan State TBA
Tuesday, Apr 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis Richmond TBA
Thursday, Apr 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UMBC 2:00 PM
Saturday, Apr 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Villanova 12:00 PM
Monday, Apr 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at George Mason 2:30 PM
Sunday, Apr 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs BIG EAST Championships All Day
Monday, Apr 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs BIG EAST Championships All Day
Tuesday, Apr 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs BIG EAST Championships All Day
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas