GWU Snaps Men's Tennis Win Streak

GUHOYAS.COM Alex Tropiano had the only GU singles victory against GWU, winning 6-0, 6-3 on court six.
GUHOYAS.COM
Alex Tropiano had the only GU singles victory against GWU, winning 6-0, 6-3 on court six.
GUHOYAS.COM

April 7, 2013

Complete Results

WASHINGTON - In a tightly contested men's tennis match the Georgetown Hoyas fell to local rival GWU earlier today, 6-1. The loss snapped an eight match winning streak for the Hoyas and is the lone home loss of the year. The Hoyas overall record now stands at 10-9 and they are 8-1 at home.

Three closely played doubles matches began the afternoon. GWU won on court three but the Hoyas evened the doubles competition after Charlie Caris (Des Moines, Iowa/Theodore Roosevelt) and Casey Distaso (The Woodlands, Texas/Edmond North) brought home an 8-5 win at one doubles. GWU seized the momentum by winning second doubles and leading the overall match 1-0.

Georgetown climbed back in the contest with an Alex Tropiano (Laurel Hollow, N.Y./Cold Spring Harbor) straight set victory on court six, 6-0, 6-3. Three other singles matches were all close calls for the Hoyas but GU could not squeeze out another triumph.

Georgetown stays home for its final two dual matches of the season. On Wednesday, April 10, the Hoyas host UMBC at 2 p.m. and then on Thursday, April 11, GU takes on George Mason also at 2 p.m.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Saturday, Feb 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Princeton 3:00 PM
Saturday, Feb 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at DePaul 3:00 PM
Friday, Mar 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs PAC Coast Doubles TBA
Monday, Mar 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC San Diego 3:00 PM
Tuesday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Wesleyan 1:00 PM
Thursday, Mar 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC Irvine 12:30 PM
Wednesday, Mar 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at George Mason 2:30 PM
Friday, Mar 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis Xavier TBA
Friday, Mar 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at George Washington 1:00 PM
Saturday, Apr 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis Saint Francis (PA) TBA
Tuesday, Apr 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Richmond 2:00 PM
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live