Mahlangu Named BIG EAST Men's Tennis Player of the Week

GUHOYAS.COM Yannik Mahlangu.
GUHOYAS.COM
Yannik Mahlangu.
GUHOYAS.COM

Jan. 28, 2014

WASHINGTON – Yannik Mahlangu (Henderson, Nev./Green Valley) of the Georgetown men’s tennis team was named the BIG EAST Men’s Tennis Player of the Week for his play in Hoyas’ victory over Boston College this past Friday. The news came via a BIG EAST press release which can be found here.

Mahlangu, a freshman, earned the award by going 2-0 against Boston College.

Mahlangu and Jack Murphy defeated Matt Wagner and Alexandre Thirouin of Boston College, 6-3, to help Georgetown captured the doubles point.

In addition to his doubles victory, Mahlangu defeated Aiden McNulty in straight sets, 6-3; 6-3, in singles player from the No. 4 position to earn one of the three singles victories for the Hoyas.

This is the first BIG EAST tennis award for the freshman and the second award for the Georgetown men's tennis team in two weeks. Last week, fellow freshman Murphy earned the honor.

The Georgetown men’s tennis team is back in action on Fri., Jan. 31 in Fairfax, Va. at the International Country Club. Action is scheduled to begin at 6 p.m.


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Thursday, Mar 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Friday, Mar 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Saturday, Mar 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Sunday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC San Diego 9:00 AM
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Wednesday, Mar 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC Riverside 1:00 PM
Thursday, Mar 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC Irvine 12:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Penn 2:00 PM
Men's Tennis vs Claremont-Mudd-Scripps TBA
Thursday, Apr 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Morgan State TBA
Tuesday, Apr 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis Richmond TBA
Thursday, Apr 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UMBC 2:00 PM
Saturday, Apr 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Villanova 12:00 PM
Monday, Apr 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at George Mason 2:30 PM
Sunday, Apr 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs BIG EAST Championships All Day
Monday, Apr 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs BIG EAST Championships All Day
Tuesday, Apr 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs BIG EAST Championships All Day
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas