Murphy Wins Second BIG EAST Tennis Player of the Week Award

GUHOYAS.COM Murphy.
GUHOYAS.COM
Murphy.
GUHOYAS.COM

April 8, 2014

WASHINGTON – Jack Murphy (Coronado, Calif./La Jolla Country Day) of the Georgetown men’s tennis team was named the BIG EAST Men’s Tennis Player of the Week on Tuesday afternoon as announced by the Conference.

Murphy, a freshman, was previously named the BIG EAST Player of the Week on January 21.

The Georgetown freshman won two singles matches for the Hoyas over the weekend. Murphy defeated Xavier’s Adam Krull on Friday, 6-4, 6-3, before dropping Connecticut’s Chris Toner, 6-2, 6-1, on Saturday. Both wins came from the No. 4 singles spot.

Georgetown fell in the BIG EAST match to Xavier on Friday, 5-2, but swept UConn, 6-0, the following day.

Murphy owns a 10-4 singles record on the spring dual season.

The Blue & Gray take on UMBC in Baltimore, Md., on Wed., April 9 before playing crosstown foe George Washington at noon on Fri., April 11.


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Friday, Feb 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis DePaul L, 7-0
Thursday, Mar 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Friday, Mar 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Saturday, Mar 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Sunday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC San Diego 9:00 AM
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Wednesday, Mar 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC Riverside 1:00 PM
Thursday, Mar 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC Irvine 12:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Penn 2:00 PM
Men's Tennis vs Claremont-Mudd-Scripps TBA
Thursday, Apr 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Morgan State TBA
Tuesday, Apr 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis Richmond TBA
Thursday, Apr 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UMBC 2:00 PM
Saturday, Apr 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Villanova 12:00 PM
Monday, Apr 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at George Mason 2:30 PM
Sunday, Apr 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs BIG EAST Championships All Day
Monday, Apr 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs BIG EAST Championships All Day
Tuesday, Apr 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs BIG EAST Championships All Day
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas