Men's Tennis Drops Close Match at UMBC, 4-3

GUHOYAS.COM
GUHOYAS.COM

GUHOYAS.COM

April 9, 2014

WASHINGTON – The Georgetown men’s tennis team (7-10, 0-1 BIG EAST) dropped a non-conference match in Baltimore, Md., to UMBC (11-8) on Wednesday afternoon, 4-3.

The Hoyas won three singles matches in the afternoon loss.

Junior Alex Tropiano (Laurel Hollow, N.Y./Cold Spring Harbor) defeated UMBC’s Alex Drean in straight sets, 6-3, 6-2, from the No. 3 position for the Hoyas. The win came as Tropiano’s 10th on the season and third from the No. 3 spot.

Georgetown senior co-captain Casey Distaso (The Woodlands, Texas/Edmond North) earned his eighth dual victory in the No. 5 spot with a win over Daniel Gray, 6-2, 7-5.

Junior John Brosens (Bedford, N.Y./Brunswick School) improved to 7-3 with a No. 6 position win on Wednesday against Kamal Patel in three sets, 6-7(6), 6-2, 10-8.

The men are scheduled to play George Washington on Fri., April 11 at noon ET.
 

UMBC 4, Georgetown 3

Doubles

  1. Alex Tropiano / Shane Korber (GU) def. Justin Carter / Melker Svard (UMBC); 8-6
  2. Alex Drean / Daniel Gray (UMBC) def. Daniel Khanin / Casey Distaso (GU); 8-3
  3. Eliott Loubatie / Kamal Patel (UMBC) def. Jordan Portner / Max Novak (GU); 8-5

Singles

  1. Justin Carter (UMBC) def. Daniel Khanin (GU); 4-6, 6-3, 6-0
  2. Melker Svard (UMBC) def. Shane Korber (GU); 6-4, 6-4
  3. Alex Tropiano (GU) def. Alex Drean (UMBC); 6-3, 6-2
  4. Eliott Loubatie (UMBC) def. Jack Murphy (GU); 6-1, 2-6, 6-2
  5. Casey Distaso (GU) def. Daniel Gray (UMBC); 6-2, 7-5
  6. John Brosens (GU) def. Kamal Patel (UMBC); 6-7(6), 6-2, 10-8


 


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Thursday, Mar 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Friday, Mar 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Saturday, Mar 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Sunday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC San Diego 9:00 AM
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Wednesday, Mar 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC Riverside 1:00 PM
Thursday, Mar 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC Irvine 12:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Penn 2:00 PM
Men's Tennis vs Claremont-Mudd-Scripps TBA
Thursday, Apr 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Morgan State TBA
Tuesday, Apr 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis Richmond TBA
Thursday, Apr 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UMBC 2:00 PM
Saturday, Apr 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Villanova 12:00 PM
Monday, Apr 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at George Mason 2:30 PM
Sunday, Apr 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs BIG EAST Championships All Day
Monday, Apr 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs BIG EAST Championships All Day
Tuesday, Apr 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs BIG EAST Championships All Day
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas