Bruhn Earns a Spot on Men's Tennis All-BIG EAST Squad

GUHOYAS.COM Andrew Bruhn
GUHOYAS.COM
Andrew Bruhn
GUHOYAS.COM

April 26, 2012

WASHINGTON - Senior men's tennis player Andrew Bruhn (Storrs, Conn./E.O. Smith) was named All-BIG EAST on Thursday by the conference office. He is first player to earn All-BIG EAST honors under Georgetown Head Coach Gordie Ernst.

Bruhn went 17-15 on the season with a mark of 14-8 at No. 1 singles and a perfect 3-0 record in BIG EAST matches. He won two of his last three matches and had a five-match win streak at one point this season.

In doubles play, he was 17-13 overall including a record of 9-6 with partner Charlie Caris and a mark of 7-4 with classmate Brian Ward. Bruhn finished the season on a four-match win streak in doubles play with Ward.

Bruhn was selected as a team captain this year by his peers and led the squad both on and off of the court.

He joins 14 other student athletes on the all-conference squad and is one of six seniors among the honorees.

The Hoyas tied for fifth at the BIG EAST Tournament and finished the season with a mark of 14-8. Georgetown went 2-1 in BIG EAST Conference play and posted a five-match home win streak at one point in the season.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Friday, Feb 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis DePaul L, 7-0
Thursday, Mar 5
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Friday, Mar 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Saturday, Mar 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Sunday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC San Diego 9:00 AM
Men's Tennis vs Pacific Coast Doubles All Day
Wednesday, Mar 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC Riverside 1:00 PM
Thursday, Mar 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UC Irvine 12:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Penn 2:00 PM
Men's Tennis vs Claremont-Mudd-Scripps TBA
Thursday, Apr 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Morgan State TBA
Tuesday, Apr 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis Richmond TBA
Thursday, Apr 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at UMBC 2:00 PM
Saturday, Apr 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at Villanova 12:00 PM
Monday, Apr 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis at George Mason 2:30 PM
Sunday, Apr 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs BIG EAST Championships All Day
Monday, Apr 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs BIG EAST Championships All Day
Tuesday, Apr 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Men's Tennis vs BIG EAST Championships All Day
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas