Georgetown Track & Field to Compete at USATF Championships

All-American Billy Ledder

June 25, 2014

WASHINGTON - The Georgetown track & field team has a small contingent of athletes competing at the 2014 USA Track & Field (USATF) Outdoor Championships, held at Sacramento State University's Hornet Stadium, site of the 2000 and 2004 U.S. Olympic Trials. The Hoyas will total seven current and former athletes at the five-day championships, which begin on Wednesday, June 25 and go through Sunday, June 29.

All-American Katrina Coogan (Exeter, N.H./Phillips Exeter Academy) highlights the current athletes as she will compete in the women's 5,000-meter finals, following a redshirted outdoor season. Coogan will join former Hoya and All-American Treniere (Clement) Moser, now competing with Nike, in the event slated for Friday, June 27 9:05 p.m. PT (Sunday, June 28 at 12:05 a.m. ET).

A pair of current Hoyas will compete in the 800-meter run with All-American Sabrina Southerland (New York, N.Y./Benjamin N. Cardozo) competing in the women's first round and All-American Billy Ledder (Washington, D.C./Gonzaga) competing in the men's first round. Southerland, coming off a stellar freshman season that saw her fall just shy of the finals site of the NCAA outdoor championships, will compete in the first round on Thursday, June 26 at 4:15 p.m. PT (7:15 p.m. ET). Ledder, breaking through to the NCAA indoor championships this season, will compete in the first round on Thursday, June 26 at 4:40 p.m. PT (7:40 p.m. PT).

All-American Dylan Sorensen, who just completed his eligibility on the Hilltop with his second-straight appearance in the steeplechase semifinals at NCAA outdoor nationals will compete in the first round of the men's 3,000-meter steeplechase on Friday, June 27 at 6:22 p.m. PT (9:22 p.m. ET). Sorensen capped his GU career with his first BIG EAST title with a win in the steeplechase, an event where the Blue & Gray took the top-four spots.

 

 

Competing in the men's 5,000-meter finals will be former Hoya and All-American Andrew Bumbalough, now running for Nike. Despite battling injuries in his post-collegiate career, Bumbalough has been no stranger to success, representing the United States at the 2011 IAAF World Championships in Daegu. Bumbalough will compete in the finals of his event on Friday, June 27 at 9:25 p.m. PT (Saturday, June 28 12:25 a.m. ET).

Liam Boylan-Pett, one of the few on the Hilltop to belong to the Sub-Four Club (along with Bumbalough), will compete in the men's 1,500-meter first round. Now competing with New Jersey New York Track Club, Boylan-Pett's event is slated for Thursday, June 26 at 6:30 p.m. PT (9:30 p.m. ET).

Full coverage of the event can be found on www.GUHoyas.com. Live results will be available via the USATF website, www.USATF.org. A live webcast of some events and a broadcast schedule can be found here.

More Headlines
Brown Named BIG EAST Men’s Track Athlete of the Week Georgetown University track & field All-American Spencer Brown (Wilton, Conn.... MacDonald Named to Canada's Pan American Junior Cross... Georgetown University freshman cross country standout Martha MacDonald (Toron... Men’s Track & Field Opens Indoor Season at Navy... The Georgetown University men’s track & field team opened the indoor... Green Named Cross Country All-American Georgetown University cross country standout Jonathan Green (Berlin, Mass./Sa...
Shop Now
Auctions

#HoyaSaxa

widget powered by zoomph

Schedules

January 6
All Day
George Mason Invitational
Fairfax, Va.
January 13
All Day
Nittany Lion Challenge
State College, Pa.
January 26
All Day
Columbia Challenge
New York, N.Y.
January 27
All Day
Columbia Challenge
New York, N.Y.
February 2
All Day
BU Scarlet & White Invite
Boston, Mass.
February 3
All Day
Villanova Invitational
Staten Island, N.Y.
February 3
All Day
BU Scarlet & White Invite
Boston, Mass.
February 9
All Day
BU David Hemery Valentine Invite
Boston, Mass.
February 9
All Day
Iowa State Classic
Ames, Iowa
February 10
All Day
Iowa State Classic
Ames, Iowa
February 10
All Day
BU David Hemery Valentine Invite
Boston, Mass.
February 17
All Day
JDL Fast Track Last Chance Meet
Winston-Salem, N.C.
February 17
All Day
Alex Wilson Invitational
Notre Dame, Ind.
February 23
All Day
BIG EAST Indoor Track & Field Championships
Staten Island, N.Y.
February 24
All Day
BIG EAST Indoor Track & Field Championships
Staten Island, N.Y.
March 3
All Day
IC4A Indoor Track & Field Championships
Boston, Mass.
March 4
All Day
IC4A Indoor Track & Field Championships
Boston, Mass.
March 9
All Day
NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships
College Station, Texas
March 10
All Day
NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships
College Station, Texas