Seton Hall Women?s Basketball Defeats Georgetown

GUHOYAS.COM
GUHOYAS.COM

GUHOYAS.COM

2/26/2002

SOUTH ORANGE, NJ -- Seton Hall defeated Georgetown 73-64 in women's basketball action Tuesday at Walsh Gym. Georgetown (12-15, 4-12) will be the No. 12 seed in the upcoming BIG EAST Championship and face No. 5 Miami at noon on Saturday, March 2.

Lesley Walker (Silver Spring, Md./Wheaton) led the Hoyas with 19 points and Rebekkah Brunson (Oxon Hill, Md./Oxon Hill) added 17. Seton Hall held Georgetown to 32.5 percent shooting in the second half (13-of-40) and 37.5 percent for the game (24-64). The Pirates shot 45.1 percent, 50.0 percent in the second half, to pull away.

The Pirates owned a 32-26 halftime lead and slowly extended their advantage, building the lead to 13 (47-34) with 11:50 left. Georgetown scored five straight points but the Pirates answered with seven straight of their own to take a 54-39 lead with 9:06 left. Georgetown would get no closer than seven the rest of the way.

Seton Hall improves to 11-3 at home and defeats Georgetown for the second time this season.

The BIG EAST Tournament runs March 2-5 at the Louis Brown Athletic Center in Piscataway, NJ.


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Sunday, Jan 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball Seton Hall L, 99-85 (OT) GameTracker Watch
Friday, Jan 30
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball at DePaul 8:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Feb 1
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball at Marquette 3:00 PM BEDN GameTracker
Sunday, Feb 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball Villanova 5:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Feb 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball Xavier 8:00 PM BEDN GameTracker
Sunday, Feb 15
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball Butler 4:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Feb 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball at Seton Hall 7:00 PM BEDN GameTracker
Sunday, Feb 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball at St. John's 2:00 PM GameTracker
Friday, Feb 27
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball Creighton 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Mar 1
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball at Providence 1:00 PM
Saturday, Mar 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball vs First Round TBA BEDN
Sunday, Mar 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball vs Quarterfinals TBA BEDN
Monday, Mar 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball vs Semifinals TBA FOX Sports 1
Tuesday, Mar 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball vs Championship 8:00 PM FOX Sports 1
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas