Hoyas defeat Vologda Russia, 88-72

GUHOYAS.COM
GUHOYAS.COM

GUHOYAS.COM

Washington, D.C. (Nov. 15, 1999) -- Junior forward Nathalie Bourdereau (River Ridge, La. /Ridgewood Prep) led four players in double figures with 23 points and 11 rebounds as the Georgetown women's basketball team defeated Vologda Russia, 88-72. It was the team's final exhibition game. Bourdereau and junior guard Porshia Jones (Fort Lauderdale, Fla./Fort Lauderdale) both sparked the Hoyas' off the bench. Jones scored 20 points and was 6-for-10 from the field.

Bourdereau and Jones were each perfect from the free-throw line on the night. Bourdereau was 9-for-9 while Jones was 8-for-8. All-America candidate Katie Smrcka-Duffy (Jr., Sterling, Va./James Madison) scored 14 points in 16 minutes and freshman Nok Duany (Bloomington, Ind./Bloomington North) chipped in with 10 points.

Vologda Russia was led by Irina Sokolovskaya's 17 points. The Hoyas shot 35-46 from the charity stripe compared to Russia's 19-29. GU also outrebounded the opposition, 42-28.

Georgetown opens the regular season this Saturday at 12:00 p.m. CST against Fresno State in the Regal Classic. The tournament, which is hosted by the University of Minnesota, also includes Ball State. The consolation game will be played Sunday at 1:00 CST with the Championship game to follow.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Monday, Dec 22
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball St. Bonaventure 2:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Tuesday, Dec 30
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball at Creighton 8:00 PM
Friday, Jan 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball Marquette 7:30 PM FOX Sports 1 GameTracker
Sunday, Jan 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball DePaul 5:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Jan 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball Providence 7:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Jan 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball at Villanova 5:00 PM FOX Sports 1 GameTracker
Friday, Jan 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball at Xavier 7:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Jan 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball at Butler 1:00 PM
Friday, Jan 23
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball St. John's 6:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Jan 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball Seton Hall 12:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Jan 30
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball at DePaul 8:00 PM
Sunday, Feb 1
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball at Marquette 3:00 PM BEDN
Sunday, Feb 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball Villanova 5:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Feb 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball Xavier 8:00 PM BEDN GameTracker
Sunday, Feb 15
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Basketball Butler 4:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas