Georgetown Field Hockey Falls to Davidson, 4-0

Briana Pereira made seven saves in the loss to Davidson.

Aug. 26, 2012

Box Score

DAVIDSON, N.C. - The Georgetown University field hockey team (1-1) fell to Davidson College (1-1), 4-0 on Sunday afternoon at Belk Turf Field. The loss drops the Hoyas record to 1-1, after they opened the season with a victory on Saturday afternoon.

Senior goalkeeper Briana Pereira made seven saves in the loss, while freshman defender Meghan Murphy registered a defensive save for a Hoyas team that was held shotless.

The Wildcats broke a scoreless tie 10 minutes and 21 seconds into the game, as Tyler McFayden scored an unassisted goal. The scored remained 1-0 in favor of Davidson, with just three more shots being taken over the next 25 minutes.

The Hoyas and Wildcats went scoreless through the first 20 minutes of the second half, before Anna Davis extended Davidson's lead to 2-0 with a goal at the 55:18 mark. Davidson scored twice more before the clock ticked down, to seal a 4-0 win.

Georgetown returns to action on Saturday, September 1 when they travel to Lynchburg, Va. to take on Liberty at 1 p.m.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Wednesday, Aug 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Lehigh TBA
Friday, Aug 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Davidson 6:00 PM
Sunday, Aug 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Appalachian State 12:00 PM
Friday, Sept 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Rider 7:00 PM
Sunday, Sept 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Monmouth N.J. 12:00 PM
Friday, Sept 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey William & Mary 1:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 10
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Saint Francis (PA) 1:00 PM
Friday, Sept 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey vs Quinnipiac 3:00 PM
Sunday, Sept 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Yale 2:30 PM
Friday, Sept 23
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Old Dominion 1:00 PM
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live