Georgetown Field Hockey Falls Short of Second Half Comeback

GUHOYAS.COM Katy Wingo and Annie Wilson before a penalty corner.
GUHOYAS.COM
Katy Wingo and Annie Wilson before a penalty corner.
GUHOYAS.COM

Sept. 25, 2011

Box Score

WASHINGTON -

The Georgetown University field hockey team (2-7) fell to St. Francis (Pa.) (2-7) in Loretta, Pa. on Sunday afternoon 3-2. Freshman Brooke Simone (Radnor, Pa./Baldwin School) and Catherine Shugrue (Devon, Pa./Episcopal Academy) had the goals for the Hoyas.

St. Francis struck first, holding a 1-0 lead through the end of the first half. Simone scored an unassisted goal four minutes into the second half to tie the game. This was the first career goal for the freshman.

The Red Flash came back to score two straight goals. Shugrue scored with less than two minutes left in the game. Charlotte Tierney (Rye, N.Y./Holy Child) had the assist.

Briana Pereira (Medford, N.J./Shawnee) had nine saves for the Hoyas.

The St. Francis contest marks the midway point for the Hoyas in the 2011 season. Georgetown travels to Rutgers on Friday, September 30 and Monmouth, N.J. on Sunday, October 2.


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Sunday, Sept 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Lehigh L, 4-2 GameTracker Watch
Friday, Sept 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Siena 2:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Sept 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Columbia 1:00 PM
Saturday, Oct 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Connecticut 12:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Oct 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Providence 12:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Oct 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Saint Joseph's 12:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Oct 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Villanova 7:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Oct 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Colgate 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Oct 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Temple 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Tuesday, Oct 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Liberty 4:00 PM
Friday, Oct 31
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Old Dominion 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Nov 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Towson 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas