Georgetown Field Hockey Falls Short of Second Half Comeback

GUHOYAS.COM Katy Wingo and Annie Wilson before a penalty corner.
GUHOYAS.COM
Katy Wingo and Annie Wilson before a penalty corner.
GUHOYAS.COM

Sept. 25, 2011

Box Score

WASHINGTON -

The Georgetown University field hockey team (2-7) fell to St. Francis (Pa.) (2-7) in Loretta, Pa. on Sunday afternoon 3-2. Freshman Brooke Simone (Radnor, Pa./Baldwin School) and Catherine Shugrue (Devon, Pa./Episcopal Academy) had the goals for the Hoyas.

St. Francis struck first, holding a 1-0 lead through the end of the first half. Simone scored an unassisted goal four minutes into the second half to tie the game. This was the first career goal for the freshman.

The Red Flash came back to score two straight goals. Shugrue scored with less than two minutes left in the game. Charlotte Tierney (Rye, N.Y./Holy Child) had the assist.

Briana Pereira (Medford, N.J./Shawnee) had nine saves for the Hoyas.

The St. Francis contest marks the midway point for the Hoyas in the 2011 season. Georgetown travels to Rutgers on Friday, September 30 and Monmouth, N.J. on Sunday, October 2.


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Tuesday, Aug 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at VCU 1:00 PM
Sunday, Aug 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at La Salle 1:00 PM
Friday, Aug 29
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Appalachian State 3:00 PM
Saturday, Aug 30
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Davidson 2:00 PM
Sunday, Sept 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Lock Haven 12:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Holy Cross 12:00 PM
Sunday, Sept 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Brown 12:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Longwood 6:00 PM
Sunday, Sept 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Lehigh 12:00 PM
Friday, Sept 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Siena 2:00 PM
Sunday, Sept 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Columbia 1:00 PM
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas