Georgetown Field Hockey Falls Short of Second Half Comeback

Katy Wingo and Annie Wilson before a penalty corner.

Sept. 25, 2011

Box Score

WASHINGTON -

The Georgetown University field hockey team (2-7) fell to St. Francis (Pa.) (2-7) in Loretta, Pa. on Sunday afternoon 3-2. Freshman Brooke Simone (Radnor, Pa./Baldwin School) and Catherine Shugrue (Devon, Pa./Episcopal Academy) had the goals for the Hoyas.

St. Francis struck first, holding a 1-0 lead through the end of the first half. Simone scored an unassisted goal four minutes into the second half to tie the game. This was the first career goal for the freshman.

The Red Flash came back to score two straight goals. Shugrue scored with less than two minutes left in the game. Charlotte Tierney (Rye, N.Y./Holy Child) had the assist.

Briana Pereira (Medford, N.J./Shawnee) had nine saves for the Hoyas.

The St. Francis contest marks the midway point for the Hoyas in the 2011 season. Georgetown travels to Rutgers on Friday, September 30 and Monmouth, N.J. on Sunday, October 2.


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Friday, Sept 30
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Temple 6:00 PM
Sunday, Oct 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Longwood 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Saturday, Oct 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Liberty 12:00 PM
Friday, Oct 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Providence 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Oct 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey UConn 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Oct 23
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Towson 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Saturday, Oct 29
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Villanova 12:00 PM
Sunday, Oct 30
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at La Salle 12:00 PM
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live