Hoyas Defeated by Monmouth, 3-1

GUHOYAS.COM
Claire Mittermiller gave GU a 1-0 lead against Monmouth.

GUHOYAS.COM
Claire Mittermiller gave GU a 1-0 lead against Monmouth.
GUHOYAS.COM

Sept. 29, 2012

Box Score

WASHINGTON - The Georgetown women's field hockey team (2-9) built an early 1-0 lead against Monmouth (2-9) today at University of Maryland's Field Hockey Complex but eventually lost 3-1. Senior Claire Mittermiller (La Jolla, Calif./La Jolla) put the Hoyas up early with her second goal of the season.

The game's first goal was scored 10 minutes in when Katie Dempsey's (Bryn Mawr, Pa./The Country Day School of Sacred Heart) shot from the left side was saved by Monmouth's Teresa Mathews but bounced right to Mittermiller's stick, who finished it off. Monmouth put heavy pressure on GU's defense the next four minutes as GU goalie Briana Pereira (Medford, N.J./Shawnee) made two great saves before Monmouth's Michelle Pieczynski found a rebound to even the score.

With 10 minutes remaining in the half Monmouth broke the tie as Amanda Schoenfeld brought the ball up the right side and squeezed off a shot past Pereira. Pereira ended the half with six saves, and nine for the game.

GU's offense in the second half attacked Monmouth's goal but were unable to convert. The Hoyas ripped nine shots in the period and took seven of their 12 corners. Monmouth was credited with five saves in the half and eight for the game. A final score for the Hawks came with 24 minutes remaining.

Georgetown hits the field again tomorrow, Sunday, September 30 at 4 p.m. The Hoyas face Lock Haven at University of Maryland's Field Hockey and Lacrosse Complex in College Park, Md.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Sunday, Sept 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Lock Haven 12:00 PM Watch
Saturday, Sept 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Holy Cross 12:00 PM
Sunday, Sept 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Brown 12:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Longwood 6:00 PM Watch
Sunday, Sept 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Lehigh 12:00 PM Watch
Friday, Sept 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Siena 2:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Sept 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Columbia 1:00 PM
Saturday, Oct 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Connecticut 12:00 PM
Saturday, Oct 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Providence 12:00 PM Watch
Sunday, Oct 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Saint Joseph's 12:00 PM Watch
Friday, Oct 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Villanova 7:00 PM
Sunday, Oct 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Colgate 1:00 PM Watch
Friday, Oct 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Temple 1:00 PM Watch
Tuesday, Oct 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Liberty 4:00 PM
Friday, Oct 31
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Old Dominion 1:00 PM Watch
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas