Field Hockey Loses Grip of First Half Lead

GUHOYAS.COM Claire Mittermiller maintains possession.
GUHOYAS.COM
Claire Mittermiller maintains possession.
GUHOYAS.COM

Sept. 30, 2011

Box Score

WASHINGTON -

The Georgetown University field hockey team (2-8) gave up three goals after taking a 2-0 lead at Rutgers (3-7) on Friday, September 30. The Hoyas came out strong with goals from Annie Wilson (Darien Conn./Darien), and Claire Mittermiller (La Jolla Calif./La Jolla). Briana Pereira (Medford, N.J./Shawnee) had 16 saves for the Blue and Gray.

Wilson struck first after receiving the ball at the top of the circle, beating one defender, and sneaking the ball around the goalie. Mittermiller tallied her goal off of several rebounded shots by Wilson. Both scores were unassisted.

The Scarlet Knights fired back at the end of the first half, evening the score in just five minutes. Both Rutgers goals were a result of set corners. Rutgers battled back for the win in the last minute of the second half. Nicole Gentile scored the game winner for the Scarlet Knights.

The Hoyas fall to 0-2 in conference play, while Rutgers advances to 1-2 in the BIG EAST.

Georgetown University field hockey continues their road trip at Monmouth on Sunday, October 2 at noon.


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Saturday, Sept 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Longwood W, 1-0 (OT) GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Sept 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Lehigh 12:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Sept 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Siena 2:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Sept 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Columbia 1:00 PM
Saturday, Oct 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Connecticut 12:00 PM GameTracker
Saturday, Oct 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Providence 12:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Oct 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Saint Joseph's 12:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Oct 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Villanova 7:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Oct 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Colgate 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Friday, Oct 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Temple 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Tuesday, Oct 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Liberty 4:00 PM
Friday, Oct 31
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Old Dominion 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Nov 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Towson 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas