Field Hockey Drops Game Against No. 2 Connecticut

GUHOYAS.COM The Hoyas huddle up before the beginning of the second half.
GUHOYAS.COM
The Hoyas huddle up before the beginning of the second half.
GUHOYAS.COM

Oct. 7, 2011

Box Score

WASHINGTON -

The Georgetown University field hockey team (2-10) fell by a score of 10-0 to No. 2 Connecticut (11-1) at the William I. Jacobs Recreational Complex at American University on Friday afternoon. Catherine Shugrue (Devon, Pa./Episcopal Academy) tallied two shots on goal for the Blue & Gray.

Briana Pereira (Medford, N.J./Shawnee) had five saves for the Hoyas, and Kelly Mosser (Fairfield, N.J./West Essex) had three saves.

Georgetown came out looking strong in the second half, with aggressive offensive play by Charlotte Tierney (Rye, N.Y./Holy Child) and Claire Mittermiller (La Jolla, Calif/La Jolla). Both juniors pressed the UConn defense into giving up several turnovers throughout the period.

UConn executed an even scoring attack, with eight different Huskies tallying a goal.

The Hoyas return to the William I. Jacobs Recreational Complex on Sunday, October 9 for the “Stick it to Cancer” game against St. Joseph’s (Pa.) (3-6) at noon. The team will be raising awareness and funds for the National Foundation for Cancer Research.


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Sunday, Sept 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Lock Haven 12:00 PM Watch
Saturday, Sept 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Holy Cross 12:00 PM
Sunday, Sept 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Brown 12:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Longwood 6:00 PM Watch
Sunday, Sept 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Lehigh 12:00 PM Watch
Friday, Sept 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Siena 2:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Sept 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Columbia 1:00 PM
Saturday, Oct 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Connecticut 12:00 PM
Saturday, Oct 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Providence 12:00 PM Watch
Sunday, Oct 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Saint Joseph's 12:00 PM Watch
Friday, Oct 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Villanova 7:00 PM
Sunday, Oct 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Colgate 1:00 PM Watch
Friday, Oct 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Temple 1:00 PM Watch
Tuesday, Oct 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Liberty 4:00 PM
Friday, Oct 31
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Old Dominion 1:00 PM Watch
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas