Georgetown Field Hockey Suffers Tough Loss to Fairfield, 3-2

GUHOYAS.COM
Annie Wilson crosses to Charlotte Tierney in loss against Fairfield.

GUHOYAS.COM
Annie Wilson crosses to Charlotte Tierney in loss against Fairfield.
GUHOYAS.COM

Oct. 10, 2010

Final Stats

WASHINGTON - The Georgetown University field hockey team (6-8, 1-2 BIG EAST) lost a close one to the Fairfield University Stags (8-6) ,3-2, on Sunday afternoon at the University Field in Fairfield, Conn. Sophomore forwards Catherine Shugrue (Devon, Pa./Episcopal Academy) and Charlotte Tierney (Rye, N.Y./Holy Child) each had a goal apiece for the Hoyas.

The Stags struck first within thirty seconds of the game when Amanda Sullivan received a cross from Marit Westenberg and hit it into the back of the goal.

Shugrue struck for the Blue & Gray at the 24:17 mark converting on the penalty corner assisted by Annika Bannon (Hopkinton, Mass./Notre Dame Academy) and Sophia Pifer (Coopersburg, Pa./Southern Lehigh) tying the game.

Less than five minutes later, Fairfield took the lead once again at 28:20 when Westenburg scored an unassisted goal on the breakaway to take a 2-1 advantage into halftime.

Fairfield opened the second half with a goal from Christy Sarsinic with the cross from Jill Keeney.

Tierney scored her eighth goal of the season at 65:17 after Annie Wilson (Darien, Conn./Darien) dribbled through traffic and delivered Tierney the cross. Tierney's goal cut the deficit to 3-2, but it was too late as the Stags held off the Hoyas comeback to win by that score.

Georgetown will return home this week as it will take on No. 9 Syracuse on Saturday Oct. 16 at 1 p.m. and conclude the weekend with Towson on Sunday Oct. 17 at 1 p.m. Both games will be played at the William I. Jacobs Recreational Complex on the campus of American University. Live stats will be available for both games on www.guhoyas.com.


 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Sunday, Sept 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Lock Haven 12:00 PM Watch
Saturday, Sept 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Holy Cross 12:00 PM
Sunday, Sept 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Brown 12:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Longwood 6:00 PM Watch
Sunday, Sept 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Lehigh 12:00 PM Watch
Friday, Sept 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Siena 2:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Sept 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Columbia 1:00 PM
Saturday, Oct 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Connecticut 12:00 PM
Saturday, Oct 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Providence 12:00 PM Watch
Sunday, Oct 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Saint Joseph's 12:00 PM Watch
Friday, Oct 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Villanova 7:00 PM
Sunday, Oct 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Colgate 1:00 PM Watch
Friday, Oct 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Temple 1:00 PM Watch
Tuesday, Oct 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Liberty 4:00 PM
Friday, Oct 31
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Old Dominion 1:00 PM Watch
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas