Georgetown Field Hockey Announces 2014 Fall Schedule

Head Coach Shannon Soares will begin her first year at Georgetown.

May 21, 2014

WASHINGTON – The Georgetown field hockey team finalized its schedule for the 2014 fall season. The Hoyas will play 18 games including nine at Multi-Sport Field on Georgetown’s campus. The squad will have five BIG EAST matchups.

GU will scrimmage both VCU and LaSalle on Tuesday, Aug. 19 and Sun., Aug. 24, respectively in road contests, before opening its official schedule at Appalachian State on Fri., Aug. 29. The Hoyas will then follow its season opener with a game the subsequent day, Sun., Aug. 30, at Davidson.

The Blue & Gray will host its first home game on Sun., Sept. 7 against Lock Haven at noon. It will be one of nine games to take place at Multi-Sport Field on the Georgetown campus.

Following two games on the road the weekend of Sept. 13-14 against Holy Cross and Brown, the Hoyas will play two home games on Sat., Sept. 20 and Sun., Sept. 21, hosting Longwood and Lehigh.

Georgetown hits the road for a three-game road stretch at Siena, Columbia and Connecticut between Fri., Sept. 26 and Sat., Oct. 4. The Hoyas will face Connecticut on Sat., Oct. 4 in the squad’s first BIG EAST matchup.

GU’s first home BIG EAST matchup will be against Providence on Sat., Oct. 11, with St. Joseph’s the following day, as the Hoyas close out the season with six of their final eight games at home.

GU will play its final BIG EAST road game at Villanova on Fri., Oct. 17 before returning home for two games against Colgate on Sun., Oct. 19 and Temple on Fri., Oct 24.

The final road game will be at Liberty on Tues., Oct. 28.

Georgetown will conclude its season with two home games against Old Dominion on Fri., Oct 31 and Towson on Sun., Nov. 2 on Senior Day.

The Hoyas face 11 of the same opponents from the 2013 season.

Tuesday, Aug. 19 | at VCU! | 1 p.m.
Sunday, Aug. 24 | at LaSalle! | 1 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 29 | at App State | 3 p.m.
Saturday, Aug. 30 | at Davidson | 2 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 7 | LOCK HAVEN | noon
Saturday, Sept. 13 | at Holy Cross | noon
Sunday, Sept. 14 | at Brown | noon
Saturday, Sept. 20 | LONGWOOD | 6 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 21 | LEHIGH^ | noon
Friday, Sept. 26 | at Siena | 2 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 28 | at Columbia | 1 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 4 | at Connecticut * | noon
Saturday, Oct. 11 | PROVIDENCE * | noon
Sunday, Oct. 12 | ST. JOSEPH’S | noon
Friday, Oct. 17 | at Villanova * | 7 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 19 | COLGATE | 1 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 24 | TEMPLE * | 1 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 28 | at Liberty | 4 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 31 | ODU * | 1 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 2 | TOWSON # | 1 p.m. 



! | scrimmage
^ | Friends of Jaclyn Foundation Day
* | BIG EAST Matchup
# | Senior Day
BOLD | home games at Multi-Sport Field

More Headlines
Field Hockey Falls Just Short in Upset Bid of No. 1... Georgetown field hockey senior Aliyah Graves-Brown (Harrisburg, Pa./Harrisbur... Hoyas Edged by Providence in Overtime in BIG EAST Battle,... Georgetown field hockey senior Devin Holmes (Fleetville, Pa./Wyoming Seminary... Field Hockey Drops BIG EAST Battle on the Road at Liberty Georgetown field hockey senior Rachel Skonecki (Mechanicsburg, Pa./Red Land) ... Masiello's Two Goals Highlight Impressive 4-2 Win Over... Georgetown field hockey sophomore Helena Masiello (East Greenbush, N.Y./Colum...
Shop Now


widget powered by zoomph


October 23
1:00 PM
Cooper Field
October 29
12:00 PM
Villanova, Pa.
October 30
12:00 PM
La Salle
Philadelphia, Pa.