Field Hockey and Women's Rowing Earn BIG EAST Team Excellence Awards

GUHOYAS.COM Women's Rowing
GUHOYAS.COM
Women's Rowing
GUHOYAS.COM

July 26, 2012

WASHINGTON - The Georgetown University field hockey and women's rowing squads were among 24 teams that were recognized by the BIG EAST Conference with 2011-12 Team Academic Excellence Awards on Thursday. The award is given to the squad with the highest collective grade-point average in each conference sport.

Twelve conference institutions were recognized and Georgetown was among the seven with more than one team honoree.

This is the second-consecutive year that the Georgetown field hockey and women's rowing teams have earned the distinction.

The women's rowing squad finished fourth at the BIG EAST Championship with three All-BIG EAST honorees. Georgetown's varsity 8 and varsity 4 both qualified for the Grand Final, finishing fourth and third, respectively. The second varsity 8 won the Petite Final, finishing fifth overall.

The field hockey squad had one player named All-BIG EAST after finishing sixth in BIG EAST Conference play. The team had 11 players named to the NFHCA Division I Academic Squad and was one of 65 squads to earn the 2011 NFHCA National Academic Team Award.

The winners were chosen based on the 2011-12 grade-point average of each student-athlete who appeared on the institution's roster as of the last contest of the championship segment in each conference-sponsored sport.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Friday, Aug 29
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Appalachian State 3:00 PM
Saturday, Aug 30
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Davidson 2:00 PM
Sunday, Sept 7
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Lock Haven 12:00 PM Watch
Saturday, Sept 13
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Holy Cross 12:00 PM
Sunday, Sept 14
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Brown 12:00 PM
Saturday, Sept 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Longwood 6:00 PM Watch
Sunday, Sept 21
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Lehigh 12:00 PM Watch
Friday, Sept 26
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Siena 2:00 PM GameTracker
Sunday, Sept 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Columbia 1:00 PM
Saturday, Oct 4
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Connecticut 12:00 PM
Saturday, Oct 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Providence 12:00 PM Watch
Sunday, Oct 12
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Saint Joseph's 12:00 PM Watch
Friday, Oct 17
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey at Villanova 7:00 PM
Sunday, Oct 19
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Colgate 1:00 PM Watch
Friday, Oct 24
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Field Hockey Temple 1:00 PM Watch
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live

Follow us! @GeorgetownHoyas