Emma Newins Named BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Week

Georgetown University senior goalkeeper Emma Newins (Glen Allen, Va./Deep Run) was named the BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Week after leading the Hoyas in the first two games of the season last weekend in San Diego.

Aug. 26, 2014

WASHINGTON - Georgetown University senior goalkeeper Emma Newins (Glen Allen, Va./Deep Run) was named the BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Week after leading the Hoyas in the first two games of the season last weekend in San Diego.

Georgetown posted a 3-1 win over host University of San Diego on Friday night in the first game of the Torero Classic and played to a scoreless draw with Long Beach State on Sunday.

The Hoyas, 1-0-1, are ranked No. 15 in the country by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) and No. 15 by Soccer America.

Newins made one save in the team's win on Friday night against San Diego and then posted six saves in the shutout on Sunday. Newins, an All-BIG EAST Third Team selection in 2013, has 24 career shutouts.

Senior midfielder Daphne Corboz (Green Brook, N.J./Watchung Hills), a preseason All-American candidate and a nominee for the MAC Hermann Trophy Award, was named to the BIG EAST Weekly Honor Roll after scoring one goal and assisting on two more in Friday night's win.

Georgetown plays its home opener on Friday, Aug. 29 against North Carolina State. The game kicks off at 3 p.m. on Shaw Field.

 

 

More Headlines
Top Videos
Schedules
DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE: Add to calendar
Sunday, Aug 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer Colorado College W, 4-1 GameTracker Watch
Friday, Sept 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at Rutgers 7:00 PM GameTracker
Thursday, Sept 8
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer George Mason 4:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Sept 11
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer Virginia 1:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Thursday, Sept 15
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at George Washington 3:00 PM
Sunday, Sept 18
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at West Virginia 1:00 PM
Sunday, Sept 25
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer Providence 1:00 PM BEDN GameTracker
Thursday, Sept 29
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer Villanova 3:00 PM GameTracker Watch
Sunday, Oct 2
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at Xavier 1:00 PM
Thursday, Oct 6
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at St. John's 7:00 PM BEDN
Sunday, Oct 9
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer Butler 1:00 PM BEDN GameTracker
Sunday, Oct 16
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at Marquette 1:00 PM BEDN
Thursday, Oct 20
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at Seton Hall 7:00 PM BEDN
Sunday, Oct 23
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer DePaul 1:00 PM BEDN GameTracker
Friday, Oct 28
Sport Opponent Time Coverage
Women's Soccer at Creighton 7:00 PM BEDN
Online Stores & Tickets
HOYAS
Official Store
Vivid Seats
Gameday Live